7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cher8
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 08:21:43

    Thanks for posting. I will check your list…

    Reply

  2. Lisa Wields Words
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 10:24:15

    Thanks for sharing this Stuart. It’s strange. In some ways I know that I’m supposed to be a “leader” in the field, but because of choices I’ve made and life happening I’m not a novice but I’m not a mover and a shaker either. I wonder if I can fix that.

    Reply

  3. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 17:04:09

    Interesting posts, Stu. It would seem a difficult task to come up with suggestions. How many people are in the trenches who don’t have a national name but have widespread influence over the years through sheer dedication and longevity? I wonder if American culture is so diverse that coming up with a definitive list is even possible?

    Reply

    • Stuart Nager
      Sep 30, 2012 @ 10:42:38

      I don’t think it can ever be a definitive list, and I don’t think that’s the point. There are just so many “unsung heroes” in this quagmire, simply because only those at the top get the notice. If they are at the top, there should be some/few/hopefully many who have helped get them there &/or kept them there.

      Reply

  4. Janette Fuller
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 17:04:41

    I think an artist needs to build a platform and fan base just like an indie author. It takes some time but it will pay big rewards in the future. Social media can be used to help “unsung heroes” get their name and their work out there where it will be noticed and appreciated by more people.

    Reply

  5. Samantha Bangayan
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 22:33:01

    You know, it seems like The Arts overall receives less recognition than it deserves. Considering all the focus on making money, we often don’t appreciate art like we should. I know I don’t appreciate art enough, no matter years of experience. I’m glad social media provides a platform to bring more attention to beauty and The Arts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,285 other followers