What kind of Klutz am I? (Ultimate Blog Challenge: Day Two)


Oh, let me tell you a tale of klutziness. Aren’t we all just a little bit a klutz, at one time or another? Who among us can say “I have NEVER been a klutz!”?

BTW..a Klutz is defined as (1) A Clumsy Person and (2) A stupid person; a dolt (courtesy of The Free Dictionary.

I am, in my opinion, the first definition. I’m sure there are some who might think I’m more of the second, but I beg to differ and will not stoop to their ways (the dolts!). I have tripped over things no one else would ever trip over. I have caught my coat/pants/shirt pockets or sleeves on things that you could almost swear that they threw themselves in my way, just so I could catch my clothing on them, and either get yanked back or tear the aforementioned article of clothing. I have dropped, spilled, broken, slipped, fallen, felled, and more throughout my life.

Anyone here get their earlobe caught in a car door?

What I thought was a funny Moment In Klutziness:

I was working at as a GM of a restaurant in Greenwich, Ct. It was fast approaching the lunch rush and everyone was doing just that: rushing to meet the approaching rush. Until one of my waitresses called out that the clock above the doors (facing the cooks) was off by hours. There was a power shortage during the night, and I THOUGHT I had changed everything that needed to be changed. Aha (and not an aha moment..darn you Oprah! Hate that “saying”), one that I did not change.

In my right hand, I had a glass of ice water for myself. I started to reach up to get the wall clock and changed the glass to my left hand. Yes, I did not put it down. I continued to reach up to take the clock down and fix the time.

My hand brushed the clock JUST as one of the serving staff came in through the In door (smart staff member). Missing me, I flinched, HIT the clock with my hand, and it started to fall. Not wanting to get hit by the falling clock I tried to protect myself…

Only to dump the glass of water on my head (with my left hand) AND get hit in the head with the clock.

I stood there, drenched, a growing bump on my head, gasps from all the staff that was in the area. And I just started laughing. Laughing and laughing. Chuckled throughout the day.

I’m a klutz. Tell me yours.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T.S. Redmond-Mize
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 17:34:34

    I did that already. LOL

    But I feel you. Definitely. I am most definitely one of the most clumsy people I know.

    Reply

  2. Gabi
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 22:01:00

    Came here by way of blog challenge, and your post made me smile. Do you know the wonderful quote from Kurt Tucholsky, German early 20th century author: ‘The advantage of being smart is that you can play stupid. The opposite is rather difficult.’ I don’t know why I was reminded of it, but I was.

    Reply

  3. Janette Fuller
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 00:00:42

    Wonderful story, Stuart! I have taken several bad tumbles in the past few years. I tripped over my dog while he was sleeping and cracked my knee cap. Three years ago I was walking the dogs outside and two of them came running up behind me, clipped me and broke my femur.
    Everyone tells me that I should get rid of the dogs and get a cat.

    Reply

  4. Paula Nancarrow
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 00:37:12

    Well, when I was in 7th grade French class and we were doing dialogues, we were all told to get up out of our chairs and gesticulate and be animated, as French people do. I think it was early afternoon, when everyone gets sleepy, and the teacher wanted to shake us up. We all had a lot of fun turning to our neighbors and asking where the library was and what’s for lunch (sausages, without a doubt) w/ as much dramatic flair as possible. When Ms. Dowzycki told us all to sit down, I forgot how far I had moved from my chair, plunked my butt down where I thought it was…and landed right on the floor. She thought one of the boys had pulled a prank on me. But it was just me, carried away with being French.

    Reply

  5. Holly
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 02:14:05

    I can’t say as I had the same experience as yourself, Stuart. Perhaps I was lucky that way, pretty coordinated most of the time with balance, and coordination in the physical realm. Though I am sure I am a klutz in other aspects of my life!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

