A Night At The Opera: Ultimate Blog Challenge #8


Ultimate Blog Challenge

Week #2 swings into full gear. I started my subject lines with a song title (What Kind of Fool Am I?, from Stop the World, I Want To Get Off) and continued to play with it over the course of the six other blogs. Now I’m into movie titles, and what better to start it off with The Marx Brothers: anarchy comedy in it’s purest improvisational joy. I’m debating on whether keeping with other Marx Bros movies. I already have an idea for A Day At The Races, so it might be The Marx Brothers the whole way…until the next change. Who knows what it will be: book titles? plays? TV show theme songs? Hmmm… “There’s a blooger, and his name is stu..” no, I can’t type the “ie” to it. Just can’t.

So..the Opera. I don’t get  it. The end. Bye. Thanks for coming along. Don’t forget to tip the waitress.

I have had many MANY discussions with friends and arts & educator colleagues on Arts exclusion: why certain people, who like certain aspects of that art discipline, are so dismissive of other forms. Now, I started off with that I don’t like Opera. I have tried…really tried to get into it. I DO like much of it AS classical music. So much of it was used in Bugs Bunny cartoons and the ilk. How could you NOT like it?!  But the actual art form, as it is, does not reach me.

Does that mean it’s not a viable art form? Absolutely not. Do I have to love it to appreciate it thus? Absolutely not. It’s just not my cup of tea, and there’s my point of this whole big magilla.

Music has a very wide range, a breadth of styles, that should all fit under the title of Music. Doesn’t mean you have to love all the forms (PLEASE do not take me to anything Minimalist-in any form-or we are in for WORDS!) but, I feel that there should be that acknowledgment of it’s validity,  it’s place of being.    Rock & Roll was detested by the adult world as just noise.  Just an example, but it fits any style or genre in that there are people who just don’t get it. I don’t get Opera, and I don’t like minimalist music (or art) but…there are others who do like it and do get it.

I have felt this way with my Art. I’m a Performance Storyteller, and an Improv Actor (among other things). The Performance part of my Storytelling has been…looked at, by some (yes, back to my Purist Fascist statement from a few blogs ago), as NOT Storytelling but as just performing. Guess what? I”M A STORYTELLER. Purists: YOU ARE PERFORMERS.

Gasp. I know. Calm  down. Take a breath. It’s all good.

In all art forms, there should be no snobbery, no egos, no holier than thous. What about community, acceptance, support, open thought, creative thinking? These are, or should be, built into the creative arts. Yes, we still are dealing with the human element, but, really…why are the arts in so much trouble right now? Mainly because we haven’t taken the time to let go of the negative aspects of ourselves and allowed each discipline to be divided in oh so many ways.

Now we all rally around under the same flag to fit the injustice of budget  cuts and fears of a civil war of culture and education…

Where were you before this all happened?

If you like the arts, are involved in the arts, are an artist: support it all the time, not when it’s crisis mode. I hope we’re in time to avert whatever bad wolf is coming down the lane.

Please link,  if you so desire, and support me as I support you.

Read: Tale Spinning Writing Experiment Blog

Website: BornStoryeller

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica Brant
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 19:45:04

    Stuart,
    I take it you don’t like Opera at all. 🙂 I feel the same way about country music. Yeeehaw “NOT”
    xoxox
    Jessica

    Reply

  2. T.S. Redmond-Mize
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 20:07:03

    Oh my gosh..I don’t know what happened here, but I tried to share your post via Facebook and it popped me up a warning. Weird!

    I am taking a breather from all my crazy promo-life tomorrow and doin’ a blogshare post. I will definitely link to you.

    Reply

  3. bornstoryteller
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 20:20:20

    Jessica…we already talked. I try to like Opera..and I hope that I can go to one with someone who LOVES it, so I can experience it with them/through them.

    Tori..I’m not sure why, but I’m getting that same warning as well. I don’t think I cursed in the post. Will have to look.

    Thank you both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

