Altered States (Ultimate Blog Challenge #14)


Ultimate Blog Challenge

Do you know what a Teaching Artist is? Can anyone who does art, in any discipline (Theater, Music, Fine Arts, Dance), teach? Should they? How, in this economy, can an independent TA make a living? So many questions, and such a changing landscape that is in front of us right now, and what can potentially be seen down the road.

Unless you have been hiding under a rock, or you ARE that rock, the Arts are being attacked, educationally and otherwise. Why should you support the arts? Do you enjoy TV, any type of music, reading, Dance, Theater, fine art of any kind? Well…where does that come from, a cereal box? Besides entertainment, the Arts can instill many life lessons, reach difficult learners, create ideas, and so much more.

Albert Einstein-you know who he is, yes?-has been quoted saying that if he had not been a Scientist, he would have liked to be a Musician.  Of the many quotes that resonate with me, this is one of his:

Imagination is more important than knowledge.

It’s not the complete quote, but…

  • how do you interpret that section?
  • How can you fit that statement into whatever you do in life?
  • Where do ideas come from, if not the imagination?

The Arts are full of imagination, personal interpretation, and can inspire you to do more.

I was inspired today to think way outside of my creative artistic box. To survive, I see that I need to alter my state of being in my theater discipline, and allow new ideas, to be really imaginative in how I conduct my “business”, is one of the most important lessons for this new economic chaos.

I’ll share more of these ideas in a later blog post. I created something on the spot I’m very excited about, and I need to let it percolate and grow until it’s a truly substantial idea.

What can imagination and the arts do for you?

Read my ongoing story for the A to Z Blog Challenge at Tale Spinning.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica Brant
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 03:24:40

    Stuart,
    fix your a href it is broken. Thinking out of the box is always a good thing. keeps us creative types on our toes.
    xoxox
    Jess

    Reply

  2. Bongo
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 08:19:58

    Always always..think out of the box….As always..XOXOXO

    Reply

  3. Mary Hudak-Collins
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 11:03:02

    Without imagination, the world would be a very boring place…just sayin’ 🙂

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Apr 15, 2011 @ 11:13:54

      I strongly suggest the book “Imagination First: Unlocking the Power of Possibility”. You’ll be happy to read it and then pass it on to the imagination challenged. And..I think I’ve given myself my next blog thingy: books that inspire me in what I do.

      Reply

  4. Sweepy Jean
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 11:12:48

    Looking forward to hearing your new ideas, Stuart!

    Reply

  5. Heather Bestel
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:00:49

    Also looking forward to your new ideas Stuart.

    As artists we are constantly changing, adapting and honing our creative skills. Over the years I have had to adapt my skills in many different ways.

    Years ago I was an actor and my first ‘well paying’ job was teaching personal development via drama to special needs students and kids at risk.

    Over the years I’ve changed and adapted. In the years in between, I’ve had a whole other career as a therapist and stress management consultant.

    I now have multiple streams of income: my therapy practice, my lecturing (personal development, stress management & counselling) as well as my online businesses.

    But the one that brings them all together involves my passion for drama.

    I have a series of children’s relaxation cds published and am invited into schools to teach emotional intelligence and personal development – and how do I do it? With drama and storytelling! How’s that for coming full circle?

    Keep thinking out of the box
    Heather x

    Reply

  6. Heather Bestel
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:44:43

    Thanks for asking Stuart,
    There is a link to them on the about page. I will be putting a proper advert for them on the home page soon, in the meantime, here’s the link:
    http://www.MagicalMeditations4Kids.com
    Best wishes
    Heather x

    Reply

  7. ALI BIERMAN
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 16:54:14

    Without the arts life does not move forward. Music is math. Paintings record interpretations. Oh! I cold go on and on.
    I was a musician and writer growing up. I recall a gym teacher being angry that I missed a class for a concert remarking that fitness is more important than music! Gees.
    Raising performing kids I testified before the school board, again, to the need to keep the arts in school. No one ever has to fight to keep football in school. Hmm.
    Imagination is our connection to the super conscious mind, the Oversoul, the All-Is-One.
    Every invention was first a vision in someone’s creative mind!
    Okay I will get off my soapbox now.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Apr 15, 2011 @ 17:03:06

      Thanks Ali. If schools promoted Drama programs like they do Sports events, the Drama dept would have the funding they need, and the draw. Alas, many principals and PTAs don’t see that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

