Where The Wild Things Are (Ultimate Blog Challenge #20)


Ultimate Blog Challenge

AtoZ: Tale Spinning (my writing experiment)

“And the wild things roared their terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth and rolled their terrible eyes and showed their terrible claws.”

“And now,” cried Max, “let the wild rumpus start!”

…which began MY favorite part of the book, Where The Wild Things Are, by Maurice Sendak.

I this to my first born (son) and then my second (daughter..btw, names are held in private so I won’t be incriminated at a later court hearing for this being taken as teasing!). It is not the first book I’d read to them, but it WAS among the first, and it was the most fun. It’s the one that has the most meaning for me as well.

The wild rumpus would catapult us around, swinging, jumping, moving around the furniture of whatever room we were in,  and singing. I made up my own Wild Rumpus yelping and booming aloud song, that just never was exactly the same, but the flavor of the moment was always there. It didn’t matter how many times we read it (and if you’re a parent or the older sibling, you know that’s par for the course), the joy was consistent.

I loved the story: wild kid reminded me of someone (ask my Mother, name withheld), dreams fancy, of being more than what he was, being a KING, going on adventures…and then returning to find that for his transgression, he is still loved enough to have a hot meal waiting for him.  Forgiveness and love. His smile at the end makes it all a journey to experience.

My son liked the book, and he still appreciates it.  I still get to see the inner child in him (an old married man of 30 now), and he was really happy when I bought him a picture book a few years ago: a new edition of Puff The Magic Dragon, with a CD from Peter Yarrow, one of his favorite childhood songs.  I know it’s one he’ll share with HIS children (I’m not ready to be a grandpa yet. ok..yes I am. Don’t tell him that!)

My daughter remained in love with WTWTA.  Over the years, she’s gotten stuffed plush dolls of the characters, hand puppets, and Christmas ornaments, all with Max and some Wild Things. She’s an old married gal of 27 now and, again, I am pretty darn sure she will share them with her kids.

That’s what a good book and sharing does: it creates memories, and takes them further along.

What book do you love to share?

One more Books I love post tomorrow. Any guesses on what it’ll be? Those who know me really well will have a good idea.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TS Redmond Mize
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 15:38:26

    We are all about Shel Silverstein and Dr. Seuss around this house. 🙂 We also have a copy of Where the Wild Things Are and frequently you hear the phrase, “Let the wild rumpus start!” Being shouted.

    Usually, by me. LOL

    Reply

  2. bornstoryteller
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 15:49:12

    For ME, Dr. Suess’s Sleep Book and One Fish, Two Fish… were MY favorites as a kid.

    Reply

  3. cybergabi
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 08:01:43

    Absolutely true! While I only encountered WTWTA as a grown-up (I don’t think it existed in Europe when I was a child), I have similar memories with other books: Winnie the Pooh, The Little Prince, and The Story of Ferdinand, as well as numerous German children’s books, particularly by Erich Kästner.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Apr 21, 2011 @ 11:28:45

      My childhood books are different memories. My dad used to read me Hans Christian Andersen stories. Where The Wild Things Are is important to me as a link to my kids when they were kids. Happy with them as adults as I am, I do miss them as KIDS.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

