17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim Brandano
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 13:09:31

    I think our own shyness keeps us from calling ourselves artist.. I am a photographer.. if you want to call me an artist, so be it but it really does not phase me ( well maybe a little lol)
    INumber one states “one, such as” the such as are the key words. Do I create something that is aesthetic value, I would hope so I know in my eyes I do

    http://jpweddingphotograpy.blogspot.com/2011/04/egrets-nesting-and-newborns-feeding.html

    Reply

  2. cybergabi
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 21:20:38

    I am a photographer and sometimes videographer. I guess I qualify as an artist since my work has been shown in galleries and public spaces which make a habit of putting art on their walls.

    As for ‘type’, I find the definitions above rather dry and unsatisfying. What interests me much more is the different psychological aspects of artists or ways of creating art: In photography, e.g. conceptual, documentary, fine art, etc. Or which different subjects they have: Humans, buildings, landscapes, animals, nature, etc. Or what they see as their purpose: L’art pour l’art, self-expression, political statements or activism, or something else.

    The longer I think about it, the more I wonder is there a scholarly typology of artists around? I think I have to look that up.

    Reply

  3. bornstoryteller
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 21:27:19

    Gabi..I posted them as an example for the argument of a Fine Arts person as the only real Artist. I agree, dry..and not really covering everything. More to make a point.

    If you find anything in your research, let me know. I’m interested.

    Reply

  4. Tameka Mullins
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 23:46:38

    At one time I was working so hard to become #3 that I buried my gifts as a writer -#1. I don’t hide from this calling anymore and I can truly say that it has saved my life on more than one occasion.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 23:51:46

      Good for you!!! I believe in diversifying (as you can see by all the labels of work I put on myself), but losing an essential part of what drives us is not a good thing. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply

  5. Mary Hudak-Collins
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 00:45:50

    hmmm, interesting concept…’artist’. I have never really looked at myself as one 🙂

    Reply

  6. Jenni De La Torre
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 01:32:35

    It’s a sad day when people try to deny other’s of a name for their talents. Just because someone gets paid or doesn’t is no reason to say they are any more artistic than another. There is a slew of talented artists, writers, poets, etc… that may never be discovered; that doesn’t mean they are any less talented.
    In my opinion, artist covers everything that a talented person does.Thank you for the insightful post.
    http://rapsandpoemsandbooksohmy.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  7. Yogasavy
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 02:07:35

    I think #2. We all have that creativity light within and how we use it may or does define the artist….
    If we begin to see our career, path or job from an artist’s point of view then the job, path or career becomes colorful, interesting and the imagination begins to come alive.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 03:16:37

      I totally agree. I don’t see what I do as a job. It’s my life work. It helps me express what I know I can give and share with others. Hope you are feeling better. Thanks.

      Reply

  8. Krissy Brady, Writer
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 09:03:45

    I fit into category #1, possibly #2 but that’s for readers to decide, too introverted to be #3, and too transparent to be #4, lol! :0)

    Reply

  9. bornstoryteller
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 20:00:33

    Thanks Krissy. Come along and I’ll buy you the shots you need to get up and do it.

    Reply

  10. Jessica Brant
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 21:23:23

    Stuart,
    I am a mixture of 1,2 & 3. SO I HAVE TO SAY I AM A FULL FLEDGED ARTIST 🙂
    Jessica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

