11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alejandro
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 14:25:26

    so true! Last story was Once upon a time then they lived happily ever after..
    it was late! Needed to sleep!

    A

    Reply

  2. bornstoryteller
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 14:41:52

    ROFL..yeah, I used to do the condensed version at times when I was pooped. My daughter caught on fast: daddy, you skipped a page(s). Sigh.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Digital Storytelling & Storytelling Roots (UBC #29) | Γονείς σε Δράση
  4. cybergabi
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 21:59:03

    Indeed – I am one of the people who rather get an e-mail than a phone call. I can read the e-mail when I’m ready for it, but the phone call usually means an interruption of what I am doing right now. But I love to meet up with people and talk, and do that all the time, too. All the more annoying when someone tries to call me in the middle of a gathering : )

    Reply

  5. johnlmalone
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 08:53:36

    I still enjoy a good story told with assuredness and style. I would rather talk to a person face to face than commnuicate through text messages though as you know I enjoy blogging and reading the comments people make. I think we all speak because we want to be heard, to have our presence acknowledged

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Apr 30, 2011 @ 10:16:46

      I agree. I would much rather talk on the phone then text or email, and I would much rather see the person and talk to them then on the phone.
      and..I love a good story.

      Reply

  6. Rhyme Me a Smile
    May 01, 2011 @ 22:17:28

    I admit I am one of those people who would rather text than talk. I just prefer to be focused on whoever I’m with at the time. I do however love ot hear and tell stories. We should do it much more often.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 01, 2011 @ 22:26:35

      Hi Rachel: yeah, it’s a huge thing with some people. I don’t like texting, and I’m not a big fan of Twitter, but it does have it’s uses. It’s just, for me, not my mode of communicating. I find that most problems we have in the world is because people are NOT good communicators, in talking and listening. Sound bites like texting and twits (yes, twits!) is removed from, to me, real human interaction and engagement. Right now, you have no idea what my body posture is, my facial expressions, my tone of voice. I could be angry, annoyed, joking around, distracted and only answering you out of an obligation…because it’s just word bites. Something is lost here. By the way..none of the above. Very happy you posted a comment. Thank you.

      Reply

  7. Harvey Heilbrun
    May 03, 2011 @ 21:02:00

    Digital storytelling can have it’s place too. I don’t think texting is an example of digital storytelling. It might better be defined as digital communicating. True digital storytelling involves, thought, planning, a story to be shared and effective use of technology. I have taught courses in digital storytellling. Check out some of the sample stories at: http://www.hdhstory.net/digitalstorytelling.htm. Also Digital storytelling, doesn’t have to be all video. Check out http://storycorps.org/listen or 1 in 8 million http://www.nytimes.com/packages/html/nyregion/1-in-8-million/index.html.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 03, 2011 @ 21:07:37

      Hi Harvey. Yes, DS does have it’s place. I hope that no one took all this to mean that I don’t feel it doesn’t. I am a firm believer that STORYTELLING is a huge arts discipline, and there should be no exclusions as to the type one likes or uses most. It’s not what I’ve worked on a lot, but I have done it.

      I’m really glad you added more links to the mix. I was making some general comparisons, gearing up for next week’s workshop.

      I only used Texting in a gripe type of way (hmmm”Gripe Type”). It’s not storytelling…what I was getting at are the amount of people who would rather text then talk their message. The 140 characters does not allow anything of length to happen. I like the human voice, which may seem weird with all the computer communications I do.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

