13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucretia
    May 03, 2011 @ 16:29:33

    Great post, I have enjoyed reading along! I think the biggest thing I do for my kids to help with bulling is making sure I am advocating for them. Making sure they know what bulling is and trying to give them tools to prevent it, and not do it themselves. I think sometimes kids don’t understand what bulling is all about. I am also thankful for teachers like you that are proactive about it.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 03, 2011 @ 16:39:19

      Thank you Lucretia. I do think that being PROactive is important. After the fact only tries to clean up the mess caused. Going to the roots hopefully prevents things FROM happening.

      Reply

  2. Alpana Jaiswal
    May 03, 2011 @ 18:51:20

    Bulling at any level sounds disgusting..and not tolerable..

    Reply

  3. Jessica Brant
    May 03, 2011 @ 19:18:14

    Great article, seems like the kids enjoyed trouble shooting and discussing the challenges young ones face when confronted with a bully. This was a really important subject to get the kids involved with and in…
    I can be a bully at times like now…Go finish that story mister. Please
    xoxo
    Jessica

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 03, 2011 @ 19:21:05

      You bully. Honestly..I’m not sure where to take the story. I need to let it sit. I only wrote it as a one-and-done. I still need to work on the larger story too, as well as two for contests.

      I do need to think about it.

      Reply

  4. Jewell
    May 03, 2011 @ 21:28:00

    Awww…geez Stu…this whole thing sounds like so much fun! I wish I could have been there to see how this developed.

    I really need to get my bullying blog up and running…this has put a burr in my butt to get that project back up and moving!

    Reply

  5. johnlmalone
    May 04, 2011 @ 10:27:13

    a thought provoking blog suggesting there is no one remedy for bullying. You can see it going on every day: the other day caught in slow moving traffic I overheard a guy berating his girlfriend in the car next to me [ the driver’s window was down]. It was downright ugly; I know it sounds funny but it wasn’t — the girl couldn’t get a word in. It was ovdert bullying. if this goes on in public what are things like in the prison of home?

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 04, 2011 @ 11:25:23

      Hi John: the only thing I feel, and again, this is my opinion, that is a “remedy” is that both sides can actually talk and LISTENING must happen. Most people just “hear”…and by that I mean they hear noise happening (the words) but they do not process it for a number of reasons. They’ve stopped listening and the other POV is of no concern at all to them. It’s not an easy call by any means. Thanks for posting.

      Reply

  6. Jennifer
    May 08, 2011 @ 02:14:23

    Stuart,
    So nice to see someone else doing some similar work to what I’ve been doing for the past year at the high school level. We’ve been having equally moving and compelling results with our device drama based on surveys and interviews of over 700 students at the high school. Would love to chat more and share how you’re assessing results and what is working, what you would work on changing and where you are going from here.

    Jen

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 08, 2011 @ 02:17:05

      Hi Jen… I’ll send you an email on all that, and I’ll write about assessments in this and what I’d change after Monday. I really need to see how the final reflection goes with the students.

      Reply

  7. Justice Calo Reign
    May 11, 2011 @ 19:20:21

    Stuart! I’m so very happy that we have connected with each other. I appreciate you leading this type of exercise with the students, and it sounds, giving them autonomy to think through this on their own.

    I take a slightly different approach to bullying. I believe it is solely a one-way problem. Bullying is, and always will be the problem of the bully. If we teach our young ones what they’re strengths are, and how to manage their emotional energy systems, then bullying doesn’t have to take it’s toll on them. If a bully ever places his hands on a child, we have to educate them that this is assault and should be dealt with as such. Other than that, the bully is the one with the issue.

    Every bully I have ever known has been trying to hide their hurt/weakness/insecurity. We need to introduce them to what is right about them, and they will stop trying to find the weakness in others.. Remember, if you spot it, you got it!

    http://strengthplay.com/2011/04/27/bullies-are-weak-you-defeat-them-through-strength/

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 11, 2011 @ 23:35:07

      Hi Justice: same here. I do agree with you about the bullies. I just feel that at all times, people play different roles in their lives and need to see it. I REALLY feel that the adult bullies need this as much, if not more, to understand what they are doing and how that it passes down through all age groups. It’s much larger then just kids in schools.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

