5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Process Drama: Reflections On Bullying Program (pt 1) | Γονείς σε Δράση
  2. Kimberly
    May 12, 2011 @ 11:01:31

    I love reading your blogs, your writing style is smooth and easy to follow. Awesome!

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    May 12, 2011 @ 14:32:11

    Stuart I love that you and I still use the term process drama. I find so many TAs, especially those coming out of recent Ed. theater programs don’t use this term and get stuck in the umbrella of “applied theater”. The process is the part that always intrigued me more as an actress and so it is why I prefer to focus on that for my work as a TA. It is so hard to get across to some TAs that drama/theater (the use of those two terms can be another blog – yes?) does not automatically mean there is a show at the end.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 12, 2011 @ 14:43:11

      Hi Lisa..yeah, I’m sick of there having to always be “product.” I once had an interview to be a High School THEATER teacher, not drama (yes, there is a blog there), and the entire interview was: “What are your productions values?”. At the end, when they asked me if I had any questions for them, I said: “Don’t you want to know about how I approach Teaching? What my process during the school day/year would be?” The interviewers looked at each other. Needless to say, I did not get that job.

      I think the idea of what you’re stating above is a lot of what the schools (principal/parents) are really looking for: what razzle dazzle can you give me, as opposed to seeing Theater Arts as having any real educational value. You know my feelings on one of the Ed Theater programs from a certain University. I feel that the best PROCESS DRAMA is one that leaves the participants wanting to know more, learn more, question more, discuss more..not “here is your answer! Done. Now, on to the next thing.” That type engages for a while. Open ended, if it’s touched you, will keep touching you, if you are inquisitive enough, or po’d enough.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

