5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenni
    May 16, 2011 @ 21:04:25

    What you spoke of; is only part of the reason, I chose to homeschool my kids. After the first year of teaching them by myself, I decided the best approach for my sanity and theirs was to unschool. Schools and teachers don’t care about the struggling student. Maybe some do, I have yet to meet one, in my school years or in my kid’s. It’s all about pushing them into one mind frame like good little worker bees. When you finally get a child who is different they are treated as a disease and less intelligent than the other’s. I often wonder what all the “brainiacs” from my class are doing now. Pretty, sure not one of them are using that information that was beaten into their mind many years ago.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 16, 2011 @ 21:07:26

      Hi Jenni… as you said, there are a lot of reasons why home schooling is growing. Too many kids are lost. You should see the papers I’ve gotten from MS and HS students, writing like they were in third grade. It’s atrocious.
      Thank you for commenting.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Curriculum Left Behind | Γονείς σε Δράση
  3. Jessica Mokrzycki
    May 17, 2011 @ 04:56:18

    Great post…something that needs to be said…shouted even…written…debated…discussed…! This should be a conversation that more people are having, especially parents, teachers and administrators…together, trying to work out this problem. The state of our crippled public school systems. I have been long critical of the standardized testing, in fact, that made me want to homeschool my kids. Then I realized I didn’t have the patience to do so..to teach two kids in the comfort of my own home! Do I have respect for someone willing to teach my kids, along with 21 others , 8 hours a day, five days a week, throughout the year? Definitely!

    I think it’s important for parents to stand alongside teachers who really care and advocate for both teachers and students. It’s also important, as a parent, to supplement your child’s learning experience. So much of learning takes place in a desk and in a workbook. So, when on vaction or on the weekends, it’s important to take our kids into life’s classroom-the world and nature. And let them learn through experience. Taking a hike, experiencing nature…going to a museum, walking through the inner city and experiencing the social reality of poverty, etc. There’s so much more I could say about all of this!A great post. Sorry if this was too long!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      May 17, 2011 @ 12:17:38

      Jessica: commentary like this can never be too long. Thank you so much.

      And yes..parents MUST continue fostering learning when they can, where they can. Besides doing just spectator things (watching a movie, going to a sports game) they should be doing things that they can interact with their kids, as you suggested above.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

