3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlie nitric
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 13:50:37

    Hey Stuart –

    Education budget cuts are going on in my city and most likely 90% of the school systems around the country. How any legislator can propose educational cuts is beyond me. I will say this and I am a lifetime sportsman. There is too much money being driven in to certain sports programs that do nothing to elevate the sport. It’s is foolish marketing and wasteful spending. The arts are always cut back on first. They are looked at as unnecessary human growth expenditures. Sad but true. Thank you.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jun 12, 2011 @ 14:03:11

      Hi Brian (yeah, I have to get used to the names here). I’m not into sports, and I see them as unnecessary beyond Physical Education (which I feel is VERY important, even in my shape!). I get sick when I see the salaries of professional sports people AND of movie “stars”…and then find that we can’t find the money for Education..wow. Just, wow.
      thanks.

      Reply

      • Roy Durham
        Jun 12, 2011 @ 21:35:41

        What is art if not the proof that a person has learned critical thinking skills? If a child learns to read and write and is allowed to show he/she has learned by demonstrating it as art. A child that is allowed to take part in a play learns to follow the instructions. Drawing a picture shows they can think in complex and abstract ideas using critical thinking skills. Written test only show that they can be programmed to pass a test not that they can think or do. When I taught industrial maintenance, I had my students draw the machine they work on the parts that made the machine work. They show me how the math works, how what they read works, they wrote of how it works, and they became artist. Showing off what a person has learned and getting praise for it is what makes learners and thinkers. Art is the show. We don’t need to be cutting art programs. We need to be cutting fat ass politicians and the pork barrel spending. I am getting a little hot under the collar, So thank you for posting and letting me vent. God bless

Leave a Reply

