52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cybergabi
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 09:34:41

    Congratulations on the award, Stuart! Nice post, too.

    Reply

  2. bornstoryteller
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 09:41:02

    Thank you Gabi.

    Reply

  3. Dangerous Linda
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 10:33:36

    Stuart — Congratulations on your award and THANK YOU for all that you are!!!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jun 24, 2011 @ 10:43:24

      Danger, you get to me every time. Love ya. Thanks.

      Reply

      • Joy
        Jun 24, 2011 @ 14:17:40

        Congratulations on the awards! I was struck most by you saying that writing is spiritual and also humbling. Spiritual is not usually a word I would associate with it but you are absolutely correct. As for humbling, I never really thought of it this way but again, this makes so much sense. Without being really conscious about it, I now realize that when I write, I do acknowledge that I don’t claim to know everything and that this is only what is true for me and don’t really endeavor to impose my truths upon others. Writing connects me to others (thus making it spiritual, other than it connects me more to my sense of self) whilst acknowledging that there are numerous other truths and voices out there and mine is only a tiny drop in the sea of ideas.

      • bornstoryteller
        Jun 24, 2011 @ 14:24:56

        Joy, for me, spiritually means much more what you were saying, and that I also usually connect (when I’m writing for two hours), with things outside of myself. I am not religious, I am an agnostic and an atheist. I want to believe, but I don’t. My spirituality, which many will argue is the wrong use of the word, is how I take my moral philosophical views to heart and how I live my passions. What is humbling for me: all the accolades about my writing, when I honestly don’t feel them myself more times than not. When I AM really happy with what I’ve written, I sit back and go ‘wow” for myself, and let it sit. Getting a story accepted for an anthology: it’s a really exciting but humbling experience for me.

        Thank you.

  4. InJensMind
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 13:05:16

    Congrats on the award… Standing ovation for your short story to be published in July.

    Reply

  5. Jenny Stamos
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 13:18:56

    Impressed and humbled by your accomplishments and life experience! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Hajra
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 15:21:50

    Hey Stuart,

    I am in awe of your achievements! Makes it wonderful to know that I am coming in touch with such amazing talent through the club. Congratulations on the award. Loved your seven tidbits to bits!

    Reply

  7. Sarah Butland
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 18:43:52

    Congratulations on the award! I didn’t realize I’d be on tour with such esteemed bloggers. 😉

    I’m glad to see you capitalize FUN while such reflections as “galvanizing” are used but not as focused on. I feel very much the same way as you list!

    Reply

  8. Paula Renaye
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 23:32:58

    Hi, Stuart!
    What an interesting life you have! Your experience in so many different areas definitely gives you some unique insights on situations.

    Congratulations on all your successes!
    Nice to meet you!
    paula

    Reply

  9. Lucy
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 05:58:46

    Congrats on the award! ‘Humblng’ – not a word I would have thought of to describe what writing means to me, but so true 🙂

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jun 25, 2011 @ 08:15:43

      Hi Lucy. That word seems to hit a lot of people. When you live just in your head, your own ego is as large, or small, as you let it be. When you get so much positive feedback, it’s gratifying and sets me back apace and makes me feel appreciative. Not false modesty. Instead of preening, I just have a different sense of self. Thank you.

      Reply

  10. Sonia Rumzi - Author
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 09:04:21

    Congratulations on the award and your achievements. 🙂 Good post!

    Reply

  11. sulekha
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 10:10:19

    Congratulations on your stylish blogger award, and also for your short story book coming out in July 2011. I like the way you have tried to be brief in explaining about writing, but would love to know more about what it means to you.

    Reply

  12. Tori Mize
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 10:13:32

    You’ve gotten so many awards, now. 🙂
    I really waver on joining another blog hop, myself- but maybe. I don’t know. XP

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jun 25, 2011 @ 10:15:17

      Hey Tori… this one is easy going, not like the A to Z challenge. That was hard to keep up, but i did “meet” a number of great people, same with Ultimate. Hmmm..who did I meet there? 🙂

      Reply

  13. Thom Brown
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 10:25:58

    Lots to celebrate. Good for you.

    Reply

  14. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 10:51:16

    Congrats on your award and I like your descriptions of what writing is to you. Humbling and spiritual are the two that resonate with me the most!

    Reply

  15. dk Levick
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 11:10:05

    Good post.

    Reply

  16. Pandora Poikilos
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 12:54:19

    Congratulations on the award Stuart and thank you for joining us on the blog tour. Your site is ever so fascinating!

    Reply

  17. Penelope J.
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 14:36:56

    Congratulations on your well-deserved award. Your vivid writing (I’ve mentioned it before) will surely result in more. I also enjoyed learning those seven things about you. Looks like your whole life has been centered on the arts, and now you are well on your way to becoming a published author.

    I heartily endorse your list of what writing means to you. Mine would be similar but the two most important ones are: Writing makes me feel like I’m in love and Writing is my companion.

    Reply

  18. InsideJourneys
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 15:08:17

    Congratulations on the award, Stuart!
    Love your writing post. You are a born storyteller!
    Glad to be on the tour with you,
    Marcia

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jun 25, 2011 @ 17:04:41

      Hi Marcia, same here. I was thinking about why do I tell stories today (had a longish drive to and from a meeting). Lots of things go into this. Glad you enjoyed the post. I’ll be hitting everyone’s tonight.

      Reply

  19. Eric @ I've Become My Parents
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 15:29:09

    “Secluded, but not lonely” got me thinking about the relationship we have with our readers. For me, writing is partly a conversation with the reader and I tend to feel that I’m with them in some sense when I’m writing.

    Thanks for planting that spark that got me thinking.

    And congratulations on your award!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jun 25, 2011 @ 17:03:03

      Thank you Eric. Yeah, I always hear about how the writer is a lonely beast, but in all honesty: take a look at this page alone. I’ve communicated, touched, reached, how many people? That is not even counting the ones who do not post a comment, for whatever reason. So…while the primary act is secluded, I’m never really alone.

      Reply

  20. Deborah swift
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 04:22:56

    Congratulations on a beautiful blog. I’m a live storytelling fan from Cumbria in the UK, and your site is a lovely way to bridge the gap between the live communication and the written word. Off to look at Tale spinning now!

    Reply

  21. MuMuGB
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 05:18:25

    Congratulations for the award ! And hello again from the Blog-A-Licious hop. It looks like you can’t be stopped!

    Reply

  22. roydurham
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 07:10:47

    Stuart congratulation s on the award you do have style. great post, thank you for being on the tour. keep it coming. as they say break a leg. thank you and god bless

    Reply

  23. Damyanti
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 10:27:31

    Congratulations on the award, Stuart! I love how your writing and blog is flourishing. 🙂

    Reply

  24. Corinne Rodrigues
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 11:33:38

    Writing is truly all these and more! You truly have the gift, Stuart.

    Reply

  25. Samantha Bangayan
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 19:16:36

    WOW! Love the sleek design of this blog, Stu! Congrats on the award and for the short story you’ll be publishing next month!! =)

    I could completely relate to the powerful words you chose on what writing is to you, especially the idea of writing being freedom and being secluded, but not lonely. Thanks for reminding me how important writing is to me and why! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

