7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kriti
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 03:18:50

    Sounds splendid : )

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Process’s The Thing: Urban Shakespeare (part two) | Γονείς σε Δράση
  3. Lisa Kander
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 08:59:34

    What fun! I love the final image of drumming and dancing. Using music throughout, I think, is always a plus.

    For the last several productions of youth Shakespeare, I have had two complete casts, so each role has a “twin”- I like your idea of some characters becoming “Greek chorus” like your Pucks. I may use that in future!

    I like to change the settings of some of Shakespeare’s pieces as well- which has led to a Victorian-era Hamlet, a Roaring Twenties Twelfth Night, and a swing-era As You Like It.

    I look forward to hearing more about your adventures!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 18, 2011 @ 23:20:23

      Thanks Lisa. I had an EXCELLENT rehearsal today: blocked the entire end of the show (Wedding/Play Within the Play/to the end + some of the dances AND got more rehearsal time in with my Pucks and Mechanicals). Just a long day. More next weekend.

      Reply

  4. Holly Jahangiri
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 09:38:01

    Are you videotaping this? I wish I could see it. Though I’ll bet the rehearsals and production work are even more entertaining. This is wonderful – so glad to see Shakespeare’s alive and well and being enjoyed by kids. (I think I was six when I started reading his plays. I was mainly intrigued because it looked like one of those things I wasn’t SUPPOSED to like, which meant, of course, that I was determined to – and did.) I wonder if that’s why I can rattle off a sonnet almost on command – iambic pentameter got wired into my neural pathways at an early age? 😉

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 18, 2011 @ 23:21:53

      Holly: for whatever reason, I’m not being allowed to take the proceedings (which I wish I could), but I think the final performances will be taped. I’ll see if I can post some of it in late August.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

