20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A.
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 23:44:22

    There is a LARGE difference between an anarchist and a revolutionary. And, a larger difference between them and a radical consitutionalist.
    In spite of the definition you listed, an anarchist wants no rules and no order- where each person decides what is best for oneself. To some degree that describes your protagonists. They have theirs, f… you about yours.
    And, i doubt you are a revolutionary. Since I have not seen a banner or platform describing what you expect to install, when and if you accomplish the goals you have not espoused.
    No, I think, you- like me- are a radical constitutionalist. We believe in the concept of America. Not the one being subverted by four of the most destructive influences placed on the Supreme Court in a century. Who believe that an artificial creation has more rights than a human (corporations; an artificial entity afforded rights by the state (NOT the Federal government) to act as if it were a person). One where people have the right to discriminate at will- against Jews, Moslems, Gays, and Sentient beings (since they are jealous that they can’t think for themselves).
    Now- what say you?

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 06:22:11

      “I’m a Radical Constitutionalist, And I’m OK!”. Hmmm… doesn’t trip off the tongue, sir, in the same way (as the humor part of it..and a small part… was intended, as thou knowest well).

      I say to you, sir, I agree, concur, dance around, shout from the rooftops, and all of that..I’m an RC…but I like the mouth sound of I’m an Anarchist.

      Radical Constitutionalists Untie!!

      Reply

  2. Roberta
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 00:35:38

    Yeah Roy and while I don’t live in America I believe in the freedom of each human being to choose their own course, take responsibility for their decisions and live life to the fullest free of the petty (and not so petty) tyrannies of A..holes who attain power by lying, cheating and general deception and then fail to take any responsibility for their actions

    Reply

  3. Cathy Jones Tittle
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 08:49:35

    Very interesting post Stu. I have always thought myself a liberal. A humanist (is there such a word?) and believing in basic human rights. I think we have lost sight of that in all the politicking governmental morass we now endure. What a mess we’ve gotten ourselves into. One generation at a time. And I worry about what will come. But I still vote. 😀

    Thanks for posting this, Mr. Anarchist. 😀

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 18:15:19

      Cath: I do believe that if we lived as humanists (and yes, it’s a term I’ve used before) we’d be better off. John Lennon’s “Imagine” is, to me, the epitome of humanistic thought and hopes. Thanks.

      Reply

  4. justanotherthoughtonline
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 08:49:41

    As long as there are sheeple we need revolutionaries (even if they are mislabeled as anarchists).

    Reply

  5. Sarah-Jane Klemis
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 10:05:38

    I cannot see you as an anarchist, I’m still giggling about this one. You have ideas and thoughts and you empathise and embrace the idea of being able to make changes for the better. You may not have the influence to make a direct mark but you definitely put the wheels in motion to get people thinking about the issues. Or maybe you’re plotting something and this is all just a big ruse to put us off track before you launch into anarchy personified?

    For the record I’d of labelled you an Aardvark in my meme, one cute critter with an awesome set of armour he he

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 18:13:20

      SJ….ah, the mild mannered, indignant exterior masks the warrior spirit. Aardvark…hmmm… Aardvark the Anarchist. I may not have the influence NOW… I’m getting to the point that things need to happen more than spouting the words.

      Reply

  6. Penelope J.
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 16:19:28

    For me, an anarchist will forever be related in my mind to Gavrilo Princip who assassinated Archduke Ferdinand of Austria, thus precipitating the start of WWI, which I doubt was his real aim (pun intended). However, I like your appropriation of it and even though Roy corrected you, you can claim to have a streak of anarchy in your, whatever is correct politically speaking, self.

    I have always considered myself slightly anarchic in my way of thinking but hadn’t acted on it since my Ban the Bomber youth in England. I was apolitical when I came to this country. (I should also add color blind until it was pointed out to me too many times.) Then I started to learn things while doing phone research that didn’t sound at all democratic to me. Then I started to look around and see the poor, the homeless, the prevalence of ignorance in high places and subsequently in low, and talk to educators who had been suspended from or shunned by the educational system for refusing to teach according to the education board’s latest directives, and then came the 2000 elections, and the trumped up reasons for the Iraq invasion, and then exposure to the dumbing down of this country and how people even laugh at it on TV as if it were some big joke, and so on. So I can agree with a lot that you write about the dismal educational system.

    I’d say you’re on a mission, or a crusade, and if it involves taking on the Establishment, then that is what matters. However, by definition an anarchist works alone or in a small group and I believe that you’ll find a lot of people think the same way as you do. So I’m afraid that you’re not an anarchist after all but rather, as Roy put it, a radical constitutionalist with an anarchic streak.

    Reply

  7. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 21:06:24

    The first think I thought was, “He sleeps all night and he works all day!”

    Be that as it may, lead the way,Stu, you’re on the right track!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 21:14:40

      YAY Adriene!! You are the ONLY person who got why I named the essay like I did. Others may have “gotten” it, but you voiced it: That’s one of the things Roy might of missed (sorry Roy): part of what I wrote, as Anarchist, was tongue in cheek Monty Python reference. No one has made a comment on why I chose The Sex Pistols song either. Nor the scene from V for Vendetta. I had hoped all of it would have been seen, like you did: on the right track, not there yet…I’m not getting the acceptance of Johnny Rotten spitting his bile to the masses completely… yet.

      Reply

  8. kriti
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 05:41:29

    I will just stick to the ‘I am Ok’ bit… what the hell!!!

    Reply

  9. Thom Brown
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 12:05:16

    For some reason I’m thinking a lot about John Locke’s social contract and its justification. Thanks for another good thought-provoking post.

    Reply

  10. Janine Ripper
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 07:23:49

    Radical constitutionalists. ARC. Interesting discussions here!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 23, 2011 @ 07:27:18

      Thanks Janine. Thing is, I DO hope it goes beyond discussion. I’d love for someone(s) to go up to the adult bully and say “hey, can we talk? I mean REALLY talk…where we stop and listen and understand that things can be done a lot easier and be more productive…”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

