8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thom Brown
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 23:11:07

    Let me share with you an email excerpt from a former student. He graduated in 1977 but wrote this just last fall. It’s receiving one of these every so often that makes it all worthwhile.

    “Being around you on a daily/regular basis for four years was an experience I obviously won’t forget (unless I forget that I remember…) but I really miss your wit and creativity. … I am honest when I say that I have a lot of great things to be thankful for in my life, not just tomorrow but all year, but you are without a doubt one of them. You had a profound impact on me and who I am (probably more than you will ever know), so just multiply that by the number of students you’ve had, and friends you’ve known over the years since. Even if you only touched 1% of them like you did me, that’s an AMAZING number of people. Thats an amazing number of very lucky people. Thanks for sharing your wit and your creativity with the rest of us. I’m certainly better for it.”

    Reply

  2. carstarphen
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 01:34:38

    Hey Stuart,
    I can definitely think of a handful of teachers who have influenced me in one way or another. Thanks for sharing this post.

    J

    Reply

  3. Tori Mize
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 09:49:28

    Though I am not technically a teacher, I have given a number of poetry workshops to middle school students.

    I enjoy this above all else, to be honest. To watch their eyes get it, to know they can express themselves fully through the written word, make it real, put their emotions and their passions out there like that. It humbles me beyond measure.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jul 26, 2011 @ 19:00:04

      Tori: I firmly believe that not all teaching moments, or great teachers, are ones found in a classroom with the fancy shmancy degree. It’s what you impart and how it engages and TOUCHES those in attendance that makes the real difference.
      Glad you get to feel that way. I do too when the kids “get it”.

      Reply

  4. Penelope J.
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 23:30:59

    Stuart, I haven’t been in FB much recently and am way behind with blog reading so I missed your call for thank an educator in my life. The person I have to thank who made a great difference was Miss Ethel Comstock who taught me for a couple of years in High School in Mexico City. She challenged her female students not to be content to just get married and be housewives but to go out and have careers, make something of themselves. That was in the 50s way before the Feminine Lib movement.

    I have to say that teachers like Miss Comstock and from what I can tell, you, not only make a difference in their students’ lives but also live on in our memories long after our school days are over.

    Loved learning about your memorable teaching moments.
    BTW. I also taught English to foreign students for five years and have several memorable moments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

