5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Damien Riley (@rileycentral)
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 18:26:01

    “Why train teachers, then, if policy makers only want regurgitation baby sitters?” I think there is a sizable chunk of society that doesn’t care if teachers are trained are not. They want lower paid babysitters. It’s part of our microwave society mentality. Unfortunately. Still, your refreshingly idealistic article caused me to subscribe to your RSS so I look forward to see where you are going with this.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 07, 2011 @ 18:57:12

      Damien, thanks for the sub, and I, too, need to see where I can take all of this. I’m SO tired and scared of what is happening to the country, and the world in general, with regards to education. I am an idealist, and so much of me wishes to connect with more idealists and start doing more than just posting a blog. We’ll all see. A few things are in the works. No…no anarchistic revolutions, but well, something has to happen.

      Reply

  2. Heidi Zeigler Twitchell
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 18:07:31

    This is a tremendously valuable post. It is brief but it to the point, nailing key issues on the head without the need for specifics or detail- we all have our personal stories to which our minds naturally make connections, making this post all the more powerful because it lends itself to speaking directly to the individual reader. I especially appreciate that you have validated the perspectives teachers administrators and all those who work on the front lines of education- at the school level. I see it to be an invaluable resource- one that teachers and administrators should save in a special place, or better yet, to print, laminate and post on the wall of their office classroom, to read whenever tensions, frustrations and difficulties arise. Thank you for your continued passion and informed insight, and especially for the time that you dedicate to courageously sharing your wisdom with as many who care enough to read. Your blog essentially could be a source for recruiting the most passionate, dedicated and competent educators, as it is those befitting this description whom you attract and engage.

    Reply

  3. Heidi Zeigler Twitchell
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 03:37:30

    I just realized I gave myself a hearty compliment with my reply! Ha! oops.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

