20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Brandel
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 09:01:44

    Lovely and neat concept! Great post Stuart!

    Reply

  2. Hajra
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 09:35:05

    This concept is so much fun actually. But I had such a tough time picking up posts. Like a reader said, it’s like choosing between my children! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Li
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 09:40:23

    Thank you, Stu. A great honour that you chose me; I had decided not to do bloggy awards/tag thingies any more, but since it’s you…..my pleasure. And I’m glad I didn’t have to choose your most beautiful post for you: there are several :-))

    I’ll try and get a post up, but you know me; a bit of a slacker punctuated by (occasional) bursts of activity. Plus, I have a new post up today and I’m waiting to gauge the reaction.

    I would add that ALL of your Talespinning stories are worth the read.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 09:59:15

      {{{{{{{{BIGHUG}}}}}}}}}}}} Li, I know you gave up on the awards thing, but you know how I feel about your writing. So, hopefully, more will find you. The ONLY reason I did not choose Damyanti as well: she’s leaving for her long trip as of Thursday, and this would stress her out. YOU have time.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Seven Minutes in Heaven (#My7Links) | Γονείς σε Δράση
  5. Savira
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 13:13:27

    I find this so very interesting… A great way to re visit one’s old posts or writings. Congratulations on being a published author!

    Reply

  6. Penelope J.
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 15:27:01

    Stuart,
    Believe it or not, I’ve read all 14 links! And I remember them. In Born Storyteller, it’s your passion about education and your somewhat controversial and negative take on what is happening in the American educational system. In Tale Spinning, it’s your vivid, deeply personal, sometimes darkly scary writing.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 16:27:01

      Pen…I am sorry that you only see the negatives I comment on. I try to offer many examples of positive alongside the negatives. Just talking about one side or the other doex not create thought or dialogue. If you look at the many links, I try to find positive things. I also often ask for others to dhare good things. Its not my mind to just tear down but to offer ideas to fix.

      Reply

  7. Penelope J.
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 17:10:47

    Stuart, I was shocked that it sounds like I’m seeing “only” (your word) negatives in what you write. I’d like to clarify that I am firmly on your side and have said so on several occasions, including recommending your posts to other bloggers with similar issues and questions about education. (Giulietta Nardone for one.) In retrospect, I misused the word “negative” as it implied you were being one-sided rather than looking at both sides of issues and trying to offer solutions. I deeply regret this misunderstanding especially since you make such thoughtful and important points in your posts. I hope they will help bring about much-needed changes and improvements in the NY educational system particularly where the arts are concerned. .

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 19:37:42

      Penelope: thank you for the clarification.l am sorry if I over reacted: spent the whole day in the emergency room with my Mom, and then I got that…and, well..there you. So, not an excuse, but…yeah, I’m sorry.

      I DO try really hard, in my bile, to bring positive stuff. I was SO beat up over the summer that I’m “jumpy” to anything right now.

      Again, my apologies. Instead of my just erasing the whole thing, let people know I am human and yes, gosh darn it in my omnipotence, I do make mistakes.

      Reply

  8. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:11:20

    Nice job, Stu. I’ve read some and have to catch up on the others. I’m more amazed that you even have the time to write them all! I could go for some advice on how to be more prolific!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 17, 2011 @ 20:28:56

      Hi Adriene: I just do it. If you notice, I was really not around much during the six weeks I was working full time. It works best when I am not working full time and not stressed. Writing is cathartic to me. Thanks for your support and friendship.

      Reply

  9. Samantha Bangayan
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 00:06:56

    The Urban Shakespeare post was truly a beautiful one, Stu! Especially after hearing the drama behind it all, what a beautiful sigh of relief to see the show come together and read about it. =) I loved your Tale Spinning picks too and totally agree with Li that all of them are worth the read! =)

    Reply

  10. mumuGB
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 03:41:50

    Hi Stuart! You are such a prolific writer…I am really impressed. What is also impressive is the variety of what you write. How do you do it? I find it hard to change style!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 07:33:59

      I find it hard to stay in ONE style.

      Part of it is my creative bent: I get bored easily. I also like a LOT of styles and genres, so that plays into it as well. I will read just about anything IF the author is good. Suck me in with good writing and I’ll read it. Bore me to tears, and you lose me, no matter what the subject matter is.

      Reply

  11. Penelope J.
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 14:55:04

    Stuart, Thanks for your gracious reply. Sorry about your mom. I hope she will recover soon. I can certainly relate to your frame of mind. I don’t know how you have managed to keep writing such excellent posts along with everything else that has been going on in your life, but in bad times, sometimes our creativity bursts forth and comes to the rescue.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 15:37:13

      When I was a director of food service (yeah, a whole ‘nuther life), I hated it so much that come Thursday night at the Improv workshop, I would blow out SO much in improv creativity. That was how I came to co-run the group. I was fierce in all I did, and threw my all in, just for the cathartic release. Most likely what I feel now when I write and hit “publish.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

