10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 20:06:33

    ” the difference between a teacher who just went through the motions and such to one who fought to get the attention of his students, to go out of his way to care for their future” the difference is support and trust. It is hard to be passionate when you feel that nobody believes what you do has any value. But those are the teachers we remember, and those are the teachers I want my daughter to have. What can I do to make it happen? I don’t know, except be that kind of teacher myself.

    Reply

  2. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A.
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 21:30:39

    I, too, enjoyed that movie. Because of Sidney Poitier and not Lulu. And, the concept behind the film. And, I knew then it would never happen in America, it could happen in England. And, it would take someone trained outside the box to make that change. (Whatever a communications engineer was supposed to be…)

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 22, 2011 @ 21:35:36

      Roy, I too enjoyed the movie for Mr. Poitier. It was the song that drew me to the movie, as music was and is such an important thing to me.

      I wish we could all just buck the system, provide results, and be applauded for it. Sadly, results or not, I feel that many would still face discipline hearings or more for not towing the line.

      Thanks.

      Reply

  3. Maureen
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 21:43:13

    Mr. Wise in 4th grade, Mr. Will my 11th grade English teacher, Mr. Davis my academic adviser in college, Mr. Miller my Chemistry teacher freshman year of college.

    I’ll never forget any of my obstreperous teachers. They didn’t just make a difference – they made all the difference.

    Reply

  4. Lucy
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 10:30:38

    In the last year of Primary School (Year 6) I had a teacher named Mr Hodgson. On the first day of his class I remember him writing on the black board that by the end of our time with him, we would all be able to write a sentence correctly. Needless to say that at 10 years old we all already thought we could write a sentence correctly, so we laughed at him! That year Mr Hodgson taught me to love the English language; with all it’s arduous grammatical foibles, sometimes unexplainably complicated punctuation and many complexities. For that, but mostly for him, I am eternally grateful.

    Reply

  5. jan
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 19:00:56

    I really enjoyed your Sparkfest post…so I checked your profile. I am so rooting for you! Anyone who has devoted his life to education and the arts deserves a standing ovation. You’re up against alot in this economy and culture. I ended my Sparkfest blog with Einstein’s same quote because, well…it’s true! Imagination is more important then knowledge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

