9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimot2ltd (@kimot2ltd)
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 21:32:04

    As a teaching artist who is heading back to school after a 2-month vacation, I will cherish this list as something to use as a reference point for my PD committee work. Thank you!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 27, 2011 @ 22:21:22

      You are most welcome. I know I probably glossed over some minute details, but…to me, this is some of the important things. Yes, there is more. I just also know it should ultimately be about one thing: the student (whether it’s a teacher, librarian or whoever).

      Reply

  2. Trackback: When Educational Professional Developments Are Worth It! | Γονείς σε Δράση
  3. Jessica Mokrzycki
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 02:10:25

    Sounds like a great, educational time! I think teachers and education professionals should definitely be exposed to these interactive learning environments. It undoubtedly encourages and informs them and with no doubt those benefits trickle down to benefit the students as well.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 28, 2011 @ 07:06:38

      Jessica: I think ANY PD, unless it’s just a straight lecture of information, should still find it’s interactive moments, get people out of their seats and moving at times, forcing them to meet others. Groups moving to sit with other groups to plan things…eh. Sounds good on paper. In actuality, it’s just creating more smaller things. My opinion, and I know there will be others who do not think I am right.

      Reply

  4. MuMuGB
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 06:02:52

    Stuart, I admire your passion. I am not a teacher, but I have had many so called trainings during my career and, frankly, most of them were not very good.
    How do you manage to stay so passionate?

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Aug 28, 2011 @ 07:04:39

      Hi Muriel: the best PDs are, in my opinion, where there is a very healthy balance of trial and error happening, as opposed to just being talked AT. Those PDs I fall asleep at. We did have one 2+ hour lecture that was like that, and boy, did they need to give us a break midway. Not just for sitting in one place but having to go you know where.

      Reply

  5. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 11:40:16

    Excellent points, Stu. In particular, I think that people get the most out of a program when they bring some enthusiasm and open mindedness to the table. Also, you’d be surprised that those running the show may not always have the skills and understanding needed to make the programs work.

    Reply

  6. bornstoryteller
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 12:01:20

    Adriene: I wish I could say I’d be surprised. I’ve been in too many sessions where it was clear the presenters were lost. It IS a skill. The group I was hoping to connect with DID have that skill. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

