Interview with the Artist: Portia Burton


The Rule of Three Interviews: Illustrator Portia Burton

I met Portia Burton through one of the many FaceBook groups that I’ve been asked to join. You join a group, ask people to friend you within the group, and if you’re lucky, it does not turn into a High School clique, but one of friendship, nurturing and support. I am pretty sure I sent in the request to her (she’ll correct me if I’m wrong), and it was to my utmost pleasure that Portia “friended” me.

Ms. Burton was gracious to be one of the illustrators asked to design a badge for the Rule of Three Blog challenge I am co-hosting. The four of us went back and forth over the designs, and in the end, it was Portia’s badge we chose. You can see it on my sidebar. Since it’s already up on my site Tale Spinning in many ways, I won’t re-post it here. If you want full information, click HERE.

You can visit Portia’s blog, Portia’s World, and read her lovely poetry and see her amazing art. Become a fan. I am.

So, let me introduce you to: Portia Burton:

Tell us a little about Portia the artist.

‘Portia the artist’ may be a misnomer! I just developed my own latent talent for lines and colours myself, following some renowned artists like Van Gogh etc. I learned from art study books and mostly by ‘trial and error’ method.initially I copied many a famous paintings but soon started to express myself in water colour and also in oil on canvas. It was but natural because being a romantic poet at heart I was bound to paint to express ‘the colourful visions’ that I often get and which can not be expressed in words. Though I haven’t done much paintings as such, I do adorn my poems with illustrations, because for me words and colours go hand in hand. You may find such ‘illustrated’ poems on my blog ‘Portia’s World‘. I am also attaching some of my paintings here.

What inspires you in for illustrations?

:Not any inspiration but a strong urge to create something colourful makes me paint and illustrate. I always carry a sketch book with me while traveling by tube and draw instant sketches of any fellow passengers whose typical manners catch my fancy or just do ‘fractals’ with colorful sketch pens.you won’t believe but the best place for me to design illustrations for my poems is the Church!In that serene atmosphere my words and allied illustrations automatically loose their rough contours and become fluid. I go there mostly in the late afternoon when there is hardly anyone there except for the friendly pastor.He is the first reader of my poems!

Your blog is very inspirational. Can you tell us about the passion(s) that drive you?

:My motivation comes mainly from my mother. She is a wonderful person,very strong in the face of adversities and very gentle like a flower at heart. Though she is a scientist,she is a believer and I have molded myself after her.  Only because of her I have this particular humanist mindset. During the recent London riots I saw how she is made of steel. She was in the forefront when people of our area took upon themselves to clean the litter left behind by the rioters even though she is undergoing therapy for cancer! She thus inspires me and I feel it is my duty to inspire others. LOVE, yes, Love is the passion that drives me. I am so full of love!

You created an absolutely beautiful badge for The Rule Of Three Blog Challenge. Can you tell us the process you went through to create it?
:Oh, steeped in the culture where ‘coat of arms’ or ‘shields’ are everywhere to be seen,it wasn’t much of an effort! The motto ‘Through Words We reveal’ gave me the idea. So I have drawn an open book and a pen in the center, oh, I couldn’t help but write some ‘words’ from Shakespeare on that ‘book’! It was all done in a couple of hours.

What are you working on next? Any large project?
:there are many ideas in my mind but these days I have to devote almost all my time to my ailing mother, but yes, I would like to paint a series of illustrations on ‘the book of revelations’.

Anything else you’d like to say?
:Just ‘LOVE AND BE LOVED’!

*************************************************

Thank you Portia. I hope everyone has a chance to get to explore your site and get to know you.

If you want to see two other pieces of her art, I’ve used them to adorn a story (Are Not You He?) and a poem (He Was the Melody). Please check them out.

The Rule of Three Interview Series

JC Martin,

Lisa Vooght,

Damyanti Biswas

In Case You Missed It-Our Teaser Trailer:

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Portia Burton
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 00:43:43

    Thanks, Stuart, My ‘Prospero’!
    It was but natural for us to meet and FB played its role to bring us closer!
    I will forever cherish this fatherly love of yours as a blessing and try to live upto the standards that you have set for me by this ‘interview’.Yes, it has added more responsibility on my shoulders.
    yours.
    Portia(Miranda)

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 06:36:03

      You’ve set your own standards and responsibility. You show it in your posts and blog and our communications. I hope people discover you. You deserve it. My thanks, Miranda. 😉

      Reply

  2. Sarah-Jane Klemis
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 04:54:05

    I adore her artwork, it’s absolutely stunning, sadly though the badge does nothing for me but that’s because it’s the clarity of the picture not the artwork itself. The background looks grey and it’s not in focus. I do like the way it pops though, looks 3D.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 06:38:00

      Portia did a beautiful job for us for the Rule of Three and we have gotten a lot of very nice feedback. Too many of the badges out there are computer generated (not all; I know, I have a few that are drawn). So…Thanks for stopping by SJ. Hope you’re well.

      Reply

    • Portia Burton
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 12:53:30

      Sarah, thanks,point taken.
      -Portia

      Reply

  3. Mohini Puranik
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 06:09:32

    What an inspiring interview indeed. Portia! You are really a gem, an inspiration for all. I really loved your thoughts and paintings. You are amazing.

    Reply

  4. Alpana Jaiswal
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 08:17:24

    Portia is a very special lady,and I am really happy to see her here….u are indeed a versatile woman…with a lot of special talents….God bless u always…

    Reply

  5. rimly
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 09:29:15

    Portia love your paintings and what an honor. You are one hellava talented woman.

    Reply

  6. Abhisek
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 11:27:47

    I love Portia’s paintings and whatever she writes comes straight from her heart.She is a special friend and the fact that she cares for all makes her a great human being.Like the badge Portia….God bless her and God bless The Born Story Teller. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Jan Neel
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 11:45:44

    Great interview, beautiful art.

    Reply

  8. simran kaur
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 12:43:03

    Wow! Here’s so much about you dear. Glad to know about you more 🙂 .You’re so pure at heart. The Thing I liked the most is that your first reader is God.. Nothing could be beautiful and amazing than this!

    You’re so creative and talented. Liked that Excellent badge made by you .
    I wish your dear mom get alright soon..
    Waiting eagerly to see your more exploring creativity and Ideas …
    And I’m blessed to have such a wonderful friend like you!

    My best wishes and love to you ,Posh 🙂
    You’re Unique!

    Reply

    • Portia Burton
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 13:05:05

      Dearest Simran,
      I cherish your love and feel so lucky to get a friend like you from such a distant country which is the cradle of creativity! yes,you are right,my first ‘audience’ is GOD!So how can I go wrong even if I try to?God bless you,baby(yeah,you are a BABY!)
      -Portia

      Reply

  9. sulekkha
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 14:03:17

    Portia, you are a great artist, love your poems and sketches. Hope your mother gets well soon. Enjoyed reading your interview.

    Reply

  10. Manisha Bhatia
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 00:18:12

    Posh…I wish from my heart tht you reach the heights in your life n ur creativity flourishes leaps n bounds…Its indeed a pleasure to share the creative podium with a talented gal like u…lotssa love…:)

    Reply

  11. melissa
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 03:02:08

    Oh, I’m extremely happy that two talented artists have come together to post a masterpiece here…

    I love Stu as a friend and his works. His writing skills are amazing. I really have to stop analyzing and start enjoying his words. There are plenty of symbolism and hidden meanings in his writings.

    You’re such a natural…and you could always extract the ‘best’ from young people. Continue generating life through your talents 🙂

    For my daughter (from her online mom)…I wanted to call you a “Lady Shakespeare” but I prefer that you be known for being you, “Portia” , a poet-artist or vice versa. You are as expressive in your paintings as you are in your words.

    I could always feel your excitement even as you write… I know when you feel confused, sad or annoyed.

    Anyhow, with regards to your artworks, I’ve yet to see your paintings.Continue creating masterpieces…

    Love you both :* and thanks a million for sharing yourselves more than your talents :*

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 03, 2011 @ 10:29:44

      Melissa: thank you, as always. I’m actually a simple writer, imo, but that you find so much deeper is a reader’s gift. I believe in aesthetic viewing of art. All of our interpretations are correct, for us. Glad you’re still following, and thank you. I try to do what I can to support those who are worthy of the support. Portia is one of those.

      Reply

  12. Trackback: J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer » Meeting the Bloggers Behind the Blogfest
  13. Li @Flash Fiction
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 19:26:13

    Hi Portia, I’m late with the commnet but I’ve been perusing your blog. You have a real feel for flow in both words and art, and great strength of emotion. Kindness suffuses everything of yours, which is a rare thing in this world 🙂

    Reply

  14. Penelope J.
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 13:43:28

    Stuart, For me, Portia needed no introduction as you have previously mentioned her and used her pictures/paintings. She has extraordinary talent and I, like many, I’m sure, have fallen in-love with her painting and hope to see many more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

