14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hocam
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 18:17:41

    The room is never more important than the student. Some schools put a lot of emphasis on what is on the walls rather than what is being done with the students. I believe if we give students self confidence and self belief, they can learn. We don’t need very fancy state of the art technologial classrooms for that but the classroom above sends a message to the students about how we value them. So a sweeping brush and a lick of bright paint. Basic seating. After that it is up to the ingenuity of the teacher to engage the pupils in their own learning.

    Reply

  2. bornstoryteller
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 19:08:25

    I could not agree with you more, Mary. I just see that the aesthetics often outplace the content.

    Reply

  3. Kathleen Cushman
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 06:35:45

    I second your emotion! And so do kids: I asked high school students why school matters, just listen to them here! bit.ly/oy7O26

    Reply

  4. Richard Wiseman
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 16:05:14

    I completely agree. Take a look at view of UK schools from ex teacher. http://richardwiseman.blogspot.com/2011/08/tyranny-of-majority-and-minority.html

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:37:05

      Hi Richard: wow…I really do implore everyone who reads this blog to click on Richard’s link. You’ll get a mind full. It’s just plain scary.

      I had a 5th grade student who used to get thrown out of class constantly. I asked him one time (I wasn’t his reg teacher): his answer was that he got out of doing the work, sat outside the principal’s office, got yelled at, and a hour or more would pass. No work. Nada. So, yeah..pulling them out of class: not the smartest thing, and the kids know it.

      Reply

  5. InJensMind
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 13:24:04

    I was just talking with my 15 year old daughter whom I unschool (not to be confused with homeschool, although it is usually in the home) about learning. One of the biggest mistakes people make in this country of ours and possibly other countries as well, is telling one another that we can’t learn something later in life because we will be too old. It seems like people actually believe that you only have a short window of opportunity to learn something. I suppose this is why schools put so much emphasis on things that don’t really matter. I don’t think the room is important whatsoever but, that is most likely because I unschool. Every moment of every day, no matter where we are, is a chance to learn. My own kids have even taught me things that I did not know. Teaching each other…that is the perfect classroom, in my opinion.

    Reply

  6. Penelope J.
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 14:09:28

    Interesting thought. The room can’t possibly be more important than the teacher. The teacher is the class, whether it be a state-of-the-art room or outdoors in the bush or jungle. For me, the teacher makes all the difference, no matter the venue.

    When I was doing surveys, I spoke with a H.S. teacher in Texas who had just returned from a year in Baku, Azerbaijan. She told me that students in her one-room school there were avid to learn vs. her students in Texas with their many distractions and other interests.

    After a lousy four-year stint in an American school, I was fortunate enough to go to a one-room High School (42 students) for two years where the teacher motivated her students “to make something of your lives.” Most of us went on to careers, scholarships, doctorates, etc. I learned more in those two years than at any other time in my life and I’m sure that her hundreds of other students would say the same. Yes, a teacher who leaves you with more to think about than homework is doing a really great job.

    Reply

  7. Penelope J.
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 16:53:29

    Stuart, I just read an interesting post from a teacher in Pune, a town outside Mumbai, on the subject of inspiring students. She and another teacher took four third/fourth graders to the American School at Mumbai (one of her students thought it was so grand that it was like a hotel) where they stood up and gave a talk to an audience of 500+ in the auditorium. Shows what a teacher can do to inspire her students. Her blog is http:www.tranquilchaos.wordpress.com I also gave her your link because I think you might be interested in each other’s experiences as educators in two very different environments.

    Reply

  8. English teachers to your hotel
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 02:16:44

    Sound like an wonderful experience. I wish we could get back to really educating. Thanks.

    Reply

  9. Casandra Jundt
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 12:29:33

    “More than kisses, letters mingle souls.” ~ John Donne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

