I Write Like…


Well, through Lisa Vooght of Flash Fiction (yes, she appears a lot here because we’ve become really good friends on this newfangled internetty thingy). She had writing analyzer site on her page entitled I Write Like.

So, I was curious. I write fiction on Tale Spinning. There have been a couple of interviews (some printed; more to come) where I get asked about my style. The best answer I’ve had is: I’m a creative chameleon. I think it fits me best, at this point. Writing what interests me at the moment, and playing with genres and styles, has left me open when I’m asked that question. Lisa asked me to take some of my work and put it in the analyzer.

So…to maybe answer the question of I Write Like…

Neil Gaiman               The Kistune-Mochi and Tora Baku

Chuck Palahniuk        The Unfolding Doll: A Tale From the Abysmal Dollhouse

Kurt Vonnegut            Bridge and Troll Authority

William Shakespeare       Sonnet: Unto Forever

Gertrude Stein                  Lev’s Love

Anne Rice                     The World That Holds Love

That is some combination of writers. I’ve linked the stories I chose to analyze so you can make your own mind up. This was a fun exercise for me.  The links are below. Let me know if you agree or not.

 

I write like
Neil Gaiman

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

<

I write like
Chuck Palahniuk

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!


I write like
Kurt Vonnegut

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!


I write like
William Shakespeare

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

I write like
Gertrude Stein

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!


I write like
Anne Rice

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. @Cerebrations.biz
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 08:49:27

    You write exactly like……

    Stuart Nager!

    Reply

  2. Kwee Lewis
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 03:15:40

    This was a fun post. I may have to see who I wright like.

    Reply

  3. Penelope J.
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 14:01:08

    Can’t comment much because I only know two of these writers well. You definitely know your Shakespeare and your writing evokes his influence, but I’m afraid that you are not yet at the Master’s level. Keep trying.

    As for Anne Rice, it’s a long time since I read anything by her, but she is a brilliant writer. The piece you wrote was brilliant, in fact, I was so overcome that I felt compelled to leave a comment. However, she writes books and this was one piece. I’d have to see a lot more from you to be sure that you are in her league, so to speak.

    Final word: Writing in five styles is great, but which is your true voice, the one you feel most comfortable with?

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 12, 2011 @ 14:06:34

      Ah, to the final word: THAT is the question, isn’t it? Roy said I write like myself. I still feel I am finding myself.

      The analyzer thing is not exact, and, as I mentioned elsewhere, I think anyone writing a sonnet. would get Shakespeare. Style over content. I would never think I write on the level (or better) than anyone on that list: just in the style of.

      As to longer work, that is my next phase.

      Reply

  4. Penelope J.
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 14:13:06

    Agree with Roy. Think you’re experimenting with different styles and genres and still finding yourself. However, I do see the same lyrical qualities, the same deep and sometimes, dark, feelings/passions in your different posts. Your true voice will come out in the novel you’re writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

