27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martha Orlando
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 22:33:22

    When I was teaching, my goal was ever to make life-long learners of my students. I longed to have those light-bulbs come on and their dreams come alive with hope and wonder as they learned more about the world around them and what they could dream for in themselves that would continue the dream in others.
    As I taught middle-school, we were not in Dr. Seuss land, but well within his territory to share, as he did, an honest story, with rhyme, rhythm, and reason. He was an inspiration; he continues to be so.

    Blessings!

    Reply

  2. Dana Pompa
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 22:46:04

    Thank you for all your support! You have an amazing talent!!!!

    Reply

  3. Debra
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 23:19:53

    DELIGHTFUL ! Tweeting this…
    You are an awesome storyteller Stuart – I’m wowed!

    Reply

  4. mumuGB (@JSJ2020)
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 03:09:02

    Am amazing performance Stuart!

    Reply

  5. MPax
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 12:11:36

    I still love Dr. Seuss. Green Eggs & Ham was always my favorite. Great performance. The hat is really fabulous.

    Reply

  6. Lucylastica2
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 12:21:50

    Cracking performance….one of the best philosophers of our time is Dr Seuss! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Thom Brown
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 12:47:39

    Full marks, Stuart. Well done, well done.

    Reply

  8. Joy
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 13:55:25

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Dr. Seuss too!!! His books are not just fun to read but oh so insightful! I enjoy reading them to Noah but I must say, it’s also a dream of mine to be able to read Dr. Seuss to other kids, like maybe story time in the library (?). I should look into that huh? 🙂

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 25, 2011 @ 15:44:22

      Joy, if you are going to volunteer, libraries love volunteers (usually, unless the librarian who does story time is territorial). You won’t know until you ask.

      Thanks.

      Reply

  9. zencherry
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 21:39:39

    Oh fantastic blog! I’m glad one of my tweeps RTd this. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Susan Kaye Quinn
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 08:30:38

    LOL! Love this. Dr. Seuss is the man. And how wonderful of you to bring him to life! Bringing books and kids together is something very close to my heart (and explains much of why I write for them), and I’m in awe of anyone who champions that cause.

    Well done!

    Reply

  11. Samantha Bangayan
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 18:39:34

    WOW! You are truly talented, Stu! Storytelling Dr. Seuss sounds like the ultimate challenge for a storyteller. As you suspected, I thoroughly enjoyed the video! =) Made me smile from ear to ear. =)

    Reply

  12. Lalia
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 09:56:56

    Big Dr. Seuss fan here too. You already posted one of my favorite quotes, but here is another, “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” =)

    Reply

  13. etomczyk
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 06:18:45

    Stuart, where have you been all my life? 🙂 It’s 6:00 a.m. and I found your site by accident. Everything about it is delightful — no, it’s magnificent! When I turned 63, I decided I wanted to fulfill a lifelong dream and become a storyteller but had no idea other people actually did this. It seems as if the best venues for adult story telling are one-woman theatre productions, standup comedy, or blogging. I’ve started with the blog. I’ve told stories all my life and would one day love to write and perform stories for adults. You site is a fabulous source for leading the way. Thank you!
    http://www.howthehelldidienduphere.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 08:08:54

      Happy accidents are good things. Thank you Eleanor.

      There are many venues available for storytelling. I do not know where you live, but you should go online and check for any storytelling guild, center, or group. If there isn’t one close by, check with your library. It’s not hard to start a group: just plan to meet on a set schedule, find a location, and make it happen. There are local and national associations: look up the National Storytelling Network http://www.storynet.org/ to get started; you’ll find many other storytellers and festivals abound.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

