29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wisdomandlife
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 08:51:24

    Hi Stuart:
    Couldn’t agree more w/this column. We all have something we’re good at, something that was passed to us when we incarnated. I find it horrible when as children we are told:
    –We’re not good enough
    –How are you going to make a living doing that?
    Oh you can’t do that for a living.

    How does anyone but yourself know what’s good for you?
    If you’re told from a young age that you can’t do something it’s going to get ingrained. What if you could have been the next Stephen King, the next Rembrandt, the next Ansel Adams and someone said you weren’t good enough?

    We should be lifting our young artists up.

    Chris

    Reply

  2. Martha Orlando
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 09:42:45

    Never, never tell a child he or she is not good enough. I was in education for years and I was very conscious about encouraging all my kids in their endeavors. If you allow a child to develop naturally, he or she will discover the talents within.
    Great post, Stuart!
    Blessings!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 30, 2011 @ 09:55:52

      Martha, I wish that was the case all the time. But, I do feel that sometimes, when a teacher pulls another student up as a good example (in whatever way it may be done), that shuts down some of the others. I hate competitions simply because of that. The “I’m not good enough” syndrome.

      Thanks for being there for your students.

      Reply

  3. Karen Pokras Toz
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 09:46:22

    Great post Stuart! Children are amazing – they are so full of creativity and talent – nothing should stand in their way. Thanks for being an advocate for keeping the arts in schools!

    Reply

  4. KalpanaS
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 09:48:32

    ..and its never too late to let the ‘inner child’ express creativity!

    Reply

  5. mumuGB (@JSJ2020)
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 12:29:03

    I found my inner child later in life. I am not letting her go now!

    Reply

  6. Thom Brown
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:08:45

    Somehow – in spite of twenty-one years of formal education, I never grew up. I grew older, but I never grew up. Thank goodness.

    Reply

  7. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:43:42

    This is wonderful. I don’t know when children become their own worst critics, but I think it stems from the idea that there is a right and a wrong way to do everything, just as there are right and wrong answers on tests. It makes me sad, and I try hard when I work with people of any age to encourage exploration and to embrace their “mistakes” to find something wonderful. What’s even more frustrating for me is the fact that somehow being an artist is not perceived by adults as worthy, because otherwise why would adults fear it so? Meanwhile, providing artistic opportunities for people of all ages and abilities can open so many doors. I experienced a wonderful example of this recently which I’ve written about here, if you are interested http://lkramer14.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=3168&action=edit

    Reply

    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
      Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:45:24

      Reply

      • bornstoryteller
        Sep 30, 2011 @ 17:11:04

        Lisa..thank you so much for sharing the link.

        Yeah, fear is part of it. I also think it just doesn’t fit in some people’s heads. I had a…gentleman…argue the hell out of me on this posting on LinkedIN…and he is not just an opposite view point, but the part I dislike: all judgmental about what IS art. OY.

        I’m tired of people who want to argue just for the sake of arguing. Really, give it a rest.

        Thank you so much Lisa. I’m following your blog now.

      • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
        Sep 30, 2011 @ 17:36:16

        Thanks for that. I’ll go check out the discussion Linked In and add my two sense. πŸ˜‰

      • bornstoryteller
        Sep 30, 2011 @ 17:38:56

        Lisa…that’s ok. thank you. I copied what you wrote (not the link) as from “someone on my comments) to answer him, so you’ve already kinda done it. πŸ˜‰

        Hope I didn’t step out of bounds. Let me know and I’ll delete it.

      • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)
        Sep 30, 2011 @ 17:43:41

        Glad to be of service. For some reason I didn’t see his comment anyway. It’s strange. Did he do it in the group discussion or on your personal page?

      • bornstoryteller
        Sep 30, 2011 @ 17:45:31

        Besides posting on my profile, I also post to certain groups I am part of. Not even sure which one it is at this moment. I’ve deleted the emails I got, and the only way I’ll see it again is if he answers back.

        Thanks anyways.

  8. Hocam
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:49:16

    I agree Stuart. This brings to mind Harry Chapin’s song Flowers are Red. http://youtu.be/qeJJOjb7fj4. It tells how a teacher tells a child that he can’t use the colours he wants but must paint in “real colours” I’m told I’m creative but I can’t draw for skins but love to “slop” with paint, sing in the shower and to cook. Apart form the cooking, I rarely let anyone see or hear the results.

    Reply

  9. Sara Carbaugh
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 19:36:08

    Such a great point and it hits home for me because I have a brilliant and artistic little 2 year old that I so love to help be creative! It is hard not to tell her “No no, do it this way.” though sometimes and it’s something where I need to break that bad habit now so that she doesn’t lose that creative spark!

    Also, I’m just rekindling my love of theater now after being away from it for about 10 years and it feels wonderful! Being Creative is totally NOT a waste of time! : )

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 30, 2011 @ 19:39:51

      She may or may not be a GREAT artist, but that’s so not the point. Encourage her and have fun. School will try to beat the “you can’t do that that way” into her too soon.

      And YAY for you in refinding theater. I had to wait until after I got divorced to find it again. Enjoy it.

      Reply

  10. Mary C. Nasser
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 21:35:55

    Awesome post!
    I am an artist and a teacher, so I really loved this!

    Great to meet you through the Ultimate Blog Challenge!
    ~Mary

    Reply

  11. Lisa
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 23:10:24

    Good post and I whole heartedly agree. Politicians with agendas dabbling in education have pressed all the fun out of the classroom for both teachers and children with testing. I never cared what my content area was: science, math, language arts.
    My students always had some storytelling and expressive writing. Emphasis has to be on the Can DO attitude. I applaud you in your vision and efforts.

    Reply

  12. bornstoryteller
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 07:53:19

    Hi..for the OPPOSITE VIEWPOINT of what this post is about, take a look at what two educators have to say: http://www.linkedin.com/groupItem?view=&gid=77639&type=member&item=73243486&commentID=53584247&report%2Esuccess=8ULbKyXO6NDvmoK7o030UNOYGZKrvdhBhypZ_w8EpQrrQI-BBjkmxwkEOwBjLE28YyDIxcyEO7_TA_giuRN#commentID_53584247

    They are from the LinkedIn group: Association of Arts Administration Educators

    Reply

  13. Samantha Bangayan
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 21:47:45

    Ooh! This is a topic dear to my heart, Stu! I think it ties in with the competitiveness we feel in a society that’s all about productivity. It begets perfectionism. I come home as a child with a drawing of my family and the adults tell me, “Beautiful! But you haven’t included the eyes. Don’t you think you blue goes better with green?” Maybe I *could* have been an artist. Maybe I *could* be an artist. =P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

