19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bongo
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 12:11:38

    I have seen this in card form and have used it myself….awesome message and way of sharing…As always…XOXOXOXOX

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 15:07:29

      Hi Bonnie…yeah, I went looking afterwards: $20/set of five cards. A bit steep. If they came out with a “postcard” sized set, one sided, in a bunch..oh yeah, I’d get it.

      Reply

  2. Roy A. Ackerman, PhD, EA @Cerebrations.biz
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 12:26:14

    Stuart- I’m with you. I love watching TV. It gives me a chance to turn off- one of the few I have. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it- if you keep up with the 999,999 other things on your agenda. Damn…one second. OK. I got the rest of the balls in the air, again…

    Reply

  3. Larry Lewis
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 13:09:46

    What an awesome manifesto. I haven’t seen this before. It gives a really empowering message. Thank you for sharing it

    Reply

  4. Savy
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 15:02:19

    Awesome message…

    Reply

  5. InJensMind
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 15:18:07

    I am against the stop watching tv as well. Since my kids were born or maybe before that, the tv has always been off. We are lucky if it’s off while we are sleeping. Most of us fall asleep with it on, then someone wakes up and shuts it off. I don’t watch shows that are below my intelligence level very often; i.e reality shows. TV brings passion in my life, even if it’s just me screaming at it calling the writers, directors, and actors all complete morons. lol

    I sort of agree with you and Roy. I don’t always keep up with all 1 million things I am doing or need to do but, I feel like I am living so they shall stay. I would rather juggle everything than focus on one thing! But, that’s because I am obviously a clown. =)

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 15:41:51

      I find it funny all the “Oh, I don’t watch television” (never TV) with that certain smugness. There are a lot of good things on the boob tube, and a lot of garbage. I like a lot of different things, and I tend to be more selective in the last ten years.

      But cut it out ’cause it’s what the cool kids do? Nuh uh.

      Reply

      • InJensMind
        Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:10:16

        Apparently I am a moron these days when typing. I said it’s always off when I meant the tv is always ON. At any given moment there is cartoons or Spanish sports or news on. I never understood that whole thing about only watching tv so many hours, bla bla. Just because it is on doesn’t mean we are staring at it like brainless zombies. More than not it is on and we are listening to it from another room, while cooking or cleaning. You don’t always have to watch it to understand. I look at it as books on tape. LOL I agree with you Stu, the cool kids can cut out the tv viewing and act like we live in a perfect world or thin people and no violence but, the fact remains it is there. The one thing I did while my kids were growing up was only allow them to watch shows and movies for their age. A lot of parents do not do that. Mine didn’t do that. My oldest is 16 and doesn’t watch things with nudity in them. Maybe I am a nutjob who protects them too much but, considering the alternative I’d rather be that nutjob and a real parent than a “sane” person who thinks children are grown at age 10.

      • bornstoryteller
        Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:15:46

        Jen…the only thing here: I’d rather a child grew up to not fear their body, find it repulsive/dirty, then to embrace violence and blood shed.

        I had this conversation with a woman yesterday at Barnes & Nobles. She was buying her son a hardcover collection of The Walking Dead (great comic and TV series, IMO). I mentioned the TV adaptation of Throne of Blood, and said how great it was, but there was nudity in it. Then I said, I’d rather that was more accepted then all the bloody violence, and she agreed.

        It’s one thing if it’s exploitative, and when we present it as dirty. I think all the needless violence and such is always dirty. Guns do kill people, and knives and other things. It’s a weapon DESIGNED for killing. Please.

      • InJensMind
        Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:34:58

        I should have been more detailed when I typed that. They do not watch nudity or violence. My kids do not watch Walking Dead. I am at the point where I am allowing more freedom to my daughter because she is about to be 16. She has night terrors among other things so violence or horror of any kind is not something that would go over well.

        I don’t teach them the body is “dirty”, infact I don’t make them turn their heads or cover their eyes with those scenes. If they are not extremely sexual, which most are these days. I never watched anything inappropriate for their ages in my house with them present. I went years without watching anything above G or PG when there was only one TV in my house. She is older now and can watch more things.

        My rating system and the governments are two different things, It has been since they were born. There are many very violent scenes in movies that are rated PG-13. Parents allow their kids to watch it, their kid screams bloody murder for a week from nightmares, and then one day they are all desensitized at 14 watching things like Hung, or Spartacus on HBO. No thank you.

        I’ve seen the effects of parenting with no restrictions and the effects of parenting strictly. I am in the middle somewhere and I’m probably biased when I say this but, my kids are good kids because of it.

        Violence does make for violent behavior. Just as constantly being around negative people breeds negativity. And anytime you promote something to children as it’s ok to do it they do infact think it’s ok. I will NEVER support shows such as Teen Mom. Seriously, who thought it was a good idea to glamorize teen pregnancy? Do we hide our kids in shame like in the olden days? No. But, you can spread education and awareness in a more appropriate manner. Showing children (and teens are still children) that you can get your 5 minutes of fame by having a baby it not what we should be teaching anyone in this country.

      • bornstoryteller
        Oct 04, 2011 @ 08:54:54

        Walking Dead is an amazing show based on an amazing comic. Seriously. It’s not really about Zombies as much as it is about how we react to adversity, and how we are our own worst enemies.

        I’d rather we not make a big deal out of a nude body and more about the violence.

  6. Bonnie
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 15:54:06

    Love the directness of this poster. Making the choice to live a fabulous life has been my mantra for a while now. Isn’t it funny how the TV issue is hit upon? lol TV is the same as everything else..moderation and choice is key. Except with love and hugs…those never need to be done in moderation!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:03:55

      Hi Bonnie..yeah, it was the one NO NO thing that was just someone’s bugaboo…TV is not the evil people make it out to be…it’s how you use it, or overuse it. Love and hugs..can never get enough hugs.

      Reply

  7. Heidi Zeigler Twitch (@thesteamacademy)
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 22:10:54

    Wow! People are paying $20 for a pack of five? I smell a fundraiser….

    Reply

  8. Anonymous
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 01:21:05

    Hi Stuart – tasty item here, as usual. I’ll be missing the UBC this time around as my sister is in town from the UK and I’ve got my priorities in order right now meaning time together is #1 (although fighting the anxiety of NOT getting work done!). Sending you vugs – you rock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

