21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zencherry
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 21:18:01

    All good points but also want to add, (maybe #17?), that when you show up for a gig, remember that a smile goes a long, long way. 😀 Hope all your gigs are happy!

    Reply

  2. Tonja Davis
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 22:45:32

    A friend and I had this conversation just the other day. I was raised in a culture where bartering was not only expected, it was almost an insult if you paid the ticketed price. It was quite a culture shock for me to have to change my expectations.

    I would like to respectfully submit to you, that you’ve limited yourself. While your list is targeted toward artists, I think that all independent business owners would do well to take your words into account. I am looking over your list and I’m doing all of this (and a few others) and I run a fitness business.

    I still barter, I still offer services in trade (I just got a gorgeous sundress and a cellphone/credit card wallet from a seamstress client in trade for a months worth of personal training 🙂 ) and I hope that I’m always able to offer this service, but it has to be something that works for both skilled tradesmen.

    May success find you in all you do!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 05, 2011 @ 23:29:39

      Tanja: if you wouldn’t mind, add to my list. I had to stop at some place. It’s up to others to continue it, and make it it’s own manifesto.

      Would you like a few stories for some personal training? 😉

      And…all success to you as well. Thank you for the wish.

      Reply

  3. Roy A. Ackerman, PhD, EA@Cerebrations.biz
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 22:59:53

    Stuart….
    You can’t see me, but I am genuflecting at the honesty and gravity of your words.
    This is absolutely stunning.

    Reply

  4. Sparks In Shadow
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 23:21:11

    Thanks for this post, too, as balanced and honest as yesterday’s — in my humble opinion.

    I love the working for respect part. While I’m not a performance artist, I still do so much writing for my sites and it can all be read for free, of course. That feels to me like working for respect. Respect can’t take care of the bills, but it does nourish the soul. 🙂

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 05, 2011 @ 23:32:59

      You are welcome. Respect and appreciation is not often given, or if done so, in small bits. We really do need to earn it, but when it is given..yeah, today was a good day.

      Reply

  5. Rebecca
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 01:42:18

    I appreciate your frustration and anger, and I applaud your list! I often think people feel it’s easier to mess with the independent artist or small business owner, and you have demonstrated that people should watch out!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 07:42:10

      Hi Rebecca, what stirred me on this was a request to give a “What to do” list: I find that when Teaching & Performing Artists (TA & PA) ignore certain things, or just don’t know, they set a bad template in the head of the clients for the future in dealing with others. I’ve heard that often, coming in and wondering what was up, then finding out they had a less than professional experience with other TAs or PAs. It bleeds onto all of us, even though we are NOT united.

      I would like to work on us being united in the arts.

      Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 08:35:49

      Hi Rebecca: I just re-read my post, as I was wondering about the anger and frustration: those are things I’ve learned over the years (did a lot of them and banged my own head in the learning).
      So, not angry in the least. Frustrated on the top section, more likely, as I still wish TAs got treated as professionals. I felt treated like a professional yesterday…that’s where this really was coming from.

      Reply

  6. Brenda
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 04:34:14

    Loved the passion.

    Reply

  7. Mary Hudak-Colllins
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 08:58:29

    Unfortunately, I get paid once a month by my clients and even then, I don’t always get paid on time. It is very frustrating. I believe it all comes down to respect and the value they place on your service. Once I put my foot down and was clear in my expectations, I no longer had problems. Some ex-clients still have outstanding balances with me, but at least I am no longer doing their work for free 🙂

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 06, 2011 @ 14:11:11

      Mary, I used to pay my theater company once a month except for the really busy summer months, then I would up it to every other week (we did SO many summer gigs that it became more of a hassle trying to pay only once a month).

      Yes, we have to put our feet down, not even just one foot. We work for a living in our way…pay us promptly, it’s not a game. Thanks.

      Reply

  8. Carolna HeartStrings
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 19:03:07

    Great list of goals to live by. Thank you from fellow UBC bloggers.

    Reply

  9. Beth
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 19:59:53

    Mutual respect is very important and regardless, I take 50% fees upfront!

    Reply

  10. Penelope J.
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 17:26:06

    Excellent advice. I agree that it’s a good idea to show appreciation and professionalism. Too few people realize that the rewards for doing this can be huge. People remember you more, especially if they receive a handwritten thank you. That will do it every time. Just wish my handwriting was as good as it used to be.

    Late payment happens to everyone, and not just artists. I work freelance writing research reports and after presenting my invoice, I have to wait a month to be paid. Company policy. Today, I asked if I could invoice 50% at the start of my current project and I was told OK, but not to invoice the other 50% until I finish it at the end of the month, which means I won’t be paid until end November. Is this fair? No, but I need the work so I have to take it.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 07, 2011 @ 17:46:08

      Penelope, what you just said is what I posted the other day: Will Work For Money. It’s ludicrous that we can’t get paid in a timely fashion. If we did that to them, they would cry bloody murder.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

