20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamanner
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 13:38:45

    Awh, yes, turmoil. . .yet, good things can come out of it. Here’s hoping!

    Reply

  2. Jamie
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 13:59:24

    I love the idea of “reboot” for one’s life. On one hand it seems to say, don’t worry, we’ll just reset everything and you can start over. On the other, it’s like getting a boot in the behind and saying, now get moving!

    Reply

  3. Jen Little
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 14:07:29

    Ah Stu, I am constantly rebooting… hence the book, the Year of Respect, another device drama. I know I am at a crossroads … Not just because of the economy but because of ME. Like you, I will not stay when I do not grow, feel happy, feel challenged. I can feel my restless feet getting ready to wander again. Not sure where or for how long. My reboot is slowly getting ready to proceed. But my computer is a little slow right now, so you might have to wait for that little clock face to circle around a few times before we know what the new screen looks like!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 14:13:25

      Jen…we understand this: we have to re-invent, or we go stale. There are just so many who are stuck in the one gear, or see it’s the only gear to have. Love the computer metaphor..wasnt where I was going, but 🙂

      Reply

  4. Distinctly YOU Inspired Blogging Services
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:20:32

    Yup- Reimagining and Reimaging is critical in the “today” world. I love it and I’m excited for all that is to come! (Love Peter Gabriel too!)…

    Reply

  5. jacksmom22002
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:28:38

    Love this piece! My husband and I have had our world turn upside down by illness, disability and the resulting poverty, but have decided in stead of lying down and dying to turn it over to God and with His help do a reinvent. We still have a long way to go but refuse to be at the mercies of the winds of change! God bless.

    Reply

  6. Lynn Dorman, Ph.D.
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:40:08

    Change or get stagnant – and stagnant sucks big time. I sucks your life, your passion and finally you are no longer the “you” that was meant to be.

    Thanks for saying this in a nicer way 🙂

    Reply

  7. zencherry
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 21:59:48

    Ahh yessss. Nice to see someone who doesn’t tolerate obstructive whining. (Takes a deep breath in the good environment) It all goes back to do what you love and if you don’t love it, do it differently, no? I am remarkably horrible at blending in and tried for years to change this only discovering many years later that this was what made me who I am. I like you. Keep spreading the word to be your ever-changing self, no matter what. 😉

    Reply

  8. bornstoryteller
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 22:09:08

    You like me. You really like me. 😉

    thanks Zen. I doubt I’ll stop searching…you don’t either.

    Reply

  9. Kaila Maria
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 18:38:22

    After reading your blog post I browsed your website a bit and noticed you aren’t ranking nearly as well in Google as you could be. I possess a handful of blogs myself and I think you should take a look here: http://dominateseowithwordpress.com You’ll find it’s a very nice tool that can bring you a lot more visitors. Keep up the quality posts

    Reply

  10. steve carignan
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 21:03:37

    Lets find a new word besides reboot. While techno-empathic the reboot is the (sometimes desperate) attempt to restart a computer or life that restores it to its original state undoing the bad (and good) things that make it up. Tabula rasa sounds rather desperate. Hopefully we can avoid HAL minus personality and memory and instead aim for a 2.0 that recoginzes and excises the bad while building the good.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 15, 2011 @ 21:52:11

      I used Reboot simply for what DC Comics did. Yeah, I agree with you Steve. It’s not the best. I do find that it’s all about Redefining where we are, where we’ve grown, and where we should go to.

      Reply

  11. Interview Questions and Answers
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 22:07:52

    It is little doubt that this is the best singer in the world! What makes a singer isn’t their vibe, it’s their voice! I don’t like when people judge singers on things that just aren’t that important. Remember, they are entertainers, not presidents! Let them do their thing and enjoy the music!

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Zencherry: A Colorful Life (Creativity Series: Guest Post) « bornstoryteller
  13. pjart48
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 09:35:48

    Instead of reboot,I deceided to take a new look at that old scarey long hallway with so many closed doors. In 2008 I left my job to be a caregiver for my Father. It was scarey- that long hallway was looming. Then one day – I had an epiphany, THOSE CLOSED DOORS WERE OPPORTUNITIES. It was up to me to open them. I might say it is a bit like opening pandora’s box at times (smile) but that same action of opening can be reversed- so alot of creative power was unleished. At 63, being an artist with many varieties of creative experiences honed over the years I must say this is a most exciting time. One door I pushed on was the computer.At work it was a dreary task-but at home it allows me to explore in so many directions with out making a mess, with out taking up room, without disturbing Dad’s environment. It has been a creative balm for me, making it possible to open more doors into unexplored creativity that beckons me like a hunger. It is an addiction iI have figured-I have always had – but now even more so. This addiction gives back and energises me and all I do. I have always been a pusher- in the since that the creative life is the best high possible and can be freely shared with everyone everywhere.I still paint with renewed passion each time, and my teaching is like a celebration of exploration- each person being a door I help open. Joyous! Love your
    posts and all the viewpoints shared. “Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.” Rumi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

