Band Groupie: The Whispering Tree (w/music videos)


Music, like books, play a very important part in my life. I cannot imagine a day going by that I don’t listen to a CD, or my new fix of Pandora. When I drive, I usually  will have WFUV (90.7 in the NY area or you can listen online streaming here) playing…unless “Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me” is on NPR.

The Whispering Tree is a group I’ve written about before (see Interview with Eleanor Kleiner). I worked with El as library clerks awhile ago now. I saw her in her first forays into forming a band. She went to England for a bit, met this guy (Ellie, now husband, and a really nice person), and they now are touring in an Airstream (you can read about their travails on their blog on their website The Whispering Tree) and have already had some great (and not so great) experiences. Where else but on the road can you meet someone who was “forced into cannibalism”? Yes, cannibalism; I’m not making that up.

Why this blog now? I’ve been talking about marketing lately, how to sell ourselves as artists without selling out. I know that blogging is a big deal with the MLM and SEO people, and it’s a numbers game to them. Me? I’d rather turn you onto a group I think you should get to know; one that I feel should “make it.”

Check out their blog. Look for them on their tour. I am a Whispering Tree groupie. Below you’ll find some of their videos, and I hope you’ll become one too. A fan, that is. Groupies are cool. We get to toss  our undies up on stage. 😉

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roy A. Ackerman, PhD, EA @Cerebrations.biz
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 09:50:07

    Great publicity for your friends.
    I don’t know if it’s YouTube, the videos, or your site- but the loading takes enough time for me to completely brew and drink a cup of coffee!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Oct 18, 2011 @ 09:54:06

      Well, you have something nice to drink while listening. Not sure why the upload time. I’m using WordPress, so…who knows? Not me. Hope you like them when they do load.

      Reply

  2. zencherry
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 11:40:05

    (Video worked great for me, maybe a bandwidth issue for Roy.) Love the mellow sound and tweeted it to all and asunder. Thanks for this new fav. 😀

    Reply

  3. Eleanor
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 16:26:44

    YAY! Our very own groupie! Thanks Stu 🙂

    Reply

  4. janaki nagaraj
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 12:03:16

    Nice group…enjoyed.

    Reply

  5. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 20:46:40

    Wow, I like them a lot! Nice songwriting and Eleanor has a great voice. Good looking out. Thanks for sharing them.

    Reply

  6. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 20:48:13

    I’m assuming the first song is original …

    Reply

  7. Womens Jewellery
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 07:49:45

    Very cool, I’m a huge music fan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

