12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JR Nova
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 10:09:19

    Personally (if this helps anyone take a risk), when I was growing up my father was struggling as a pencil artist, doing portraits for people. It was neat to watch him draw and all, but there wasn’t a lot of food in the cupboards and new toys weren’t always readily available. I never worried about that stuff though, because what I craved most was my father’s attention. I think if parents can give time to their children they can have a lot more room to go after their dreams. Kids are amazingly adaptable and don’t need the finer things to get by like most adults do. So sometimes it’s appropriate to put aside “getting ahead” for “being happy”. So if you’re happy doing what you love, and your children are happy because they have you, the money is a lot less important. Pay the lights and the rent and go for it. Just looking back on my own life that’s how I feel.

    Reply

  2. Leah Griffith
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 11:34:06

    This was a great post, not only because it validates the changes that I’ve recently made in my life to accommodate my writing, but because it’s the truth.
    Nice;)

    Reply

  3. Roy A. Ackerman, PhD, EA @Cerebrations.biz
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 12:03:10

    I have been lucky enough to have done what I wanted for most of my life (professionally). OK, I probably would still be teaching, but the politics were overwhelming- and I had hoped to retire as a professor (who knew the banks would ruin the economy rendering this problematic).
    There were two rules I followed to insure my children would never be shortchanged. 1. They come first on weekends. No matter what. I rarely have worked on a weekend, leaving that time for them to choose what we do. 2. Make sure my children know they are loved each and every day of their lives.
    Trust me- I work hard- and generally long hours. For about 5 years, I commuted- from Charlottesville (VA) to Long Beach (CA), coming back to spend weekends and 2 nights a week with my kids.
    Don’t give up on your dreams- work your dreams to fit your life.

    Oh- and the biggest prize was when my son (the youngest of the bunch) wrote a paper in 3rd grade, when HE was studying da Vinci, that he knows what a Renaissance Man is- it’s his dad. Yes, I still have that document.

    Reply

  4. bornstoryteller
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 16:53:28

    Lovely, Roy.

    Reply

  5. zencherry
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 01:46:24

    My dad died when I was twenty-three. He said to me not but two years before this that ‘someday I’m going to buy that boat.’ Now he was financially capable of buying the boat, but his work hours were such that he just never got around to it. It was always a someday.

    Well, do what you have to do in life, but buy the danged boat everyone. Whatever that is for you. Make someday…today, as soon as you can.

    Lovely post Stuart. As always. 😀

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 07:18:52

      Thank you, Maureen. This waiting for happiness thing, total sacrifices….why? we sometimes hold onto what can be expunged ;now.

      Sorry your Dad did not get his boat.

      He did get YOU, a great daughter, n’est pas?

      Reply

  6. Penelope J.
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 16:34:00

    Good for you, Stuart, that you followed your dream despite the sacrifices you and your family had to make. I gather that the rewards have more than compensated for giving up those 60+ working hours and a secure paycheck.

    I have to agree – and disagree with this premise. While my kids were young, no way I could give up work. Quite the reverse. I had to concentrate on my career and work to support them and provide the security they needed, and give up on my dreams to be a published writer.

    However, once my career ended and with my kids grown up, I rediscovered the joy of writing. My lifestyle dropped from secure to precarious to living on the edge, but it hasn’t mattered, (though sometimes, my freelance work interferes as I have to survive). In retrospect, I can’t regret my decision to fulfill my obligations as a parent, especially since neither of my parents were able to fulfill theirs for me.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 17:24:59

      Penelope, glad you are “back”. As I said above- find a way to do some of it instead of just waiting. I’m glad you did what you had to. My choice was mine, and it did allow for some tough times.

      Reply

  7. Anna Tan
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 11:26:08

    Thank you for this wonderful post.
    Sometimes I feel as if I’m losing out by keeping my job, juggling a lot of different things as and when I can. I’ve thought a lot about quitting my job to do all these creative stuff and it’s somewhere in the plan – just not sure how or when yet.
    It’s comforting to be reminded that other people took a long time to get there too and I’m not the tortoise who’s always left behind!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

