38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theliteraryshack
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 02:08:30

    This resembles some parts of my life so much. Fortunately I realised even as I do my day job that its ok to pursue my passions alongside. And this mindset has been immensely useful in striking a good balance in my life.

    And I’m going to take away the “Despite the Rain, We are happy” motto to keep going.

    I’m so glad I came across this pose. Thanks 🙂

    Reply

  2. Late Bloomers
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 02:35:38

    Stuart, thanks for introducing the creativity series – what a great idea! Courageuse Muriel, to be the first, lovely post, great how your collages evolved, and trees are special to some of us! I always wonder how strong (and destructive) these family influences are, lucky you to have had precocious mid-life crisis (ha!) and to come out on top whole and happy!
    Anything can happen, we only have to open up!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 08:12:03

      Barbara, you are most welcome. I find that numbers being so more important to so many that we really need to know all the different ways have creativity shapes the lives we lead. I hope you enjoy what’s coming up every Monday and Wednesday from guest bloggers, and Fridays (and other days) from me.
      If you hadn’t noticed there are 4 creativity posts from last week. At this moment I have posts throughout November into December with promise of more in January.

      Reply

      • Late Bloomers
        Nov 14, 2011 @ 14:14:27

        Hi, Stuart, actually I have realised (in the meantime) that there were 4 previous posts (which I have actually read as well!), blame it on befuddled brains deranged by my cold or the early hour …, look forward to reading your series!

    • mumuGB (@JSJ2020)
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 09:05:59

      So, are you next? I would love to hear your story. I think that Stuart had a great idea…

      Reply

  3. Accidental Londoner
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 04:24:12

    And to think it all started with a single blog…clever you! Keep up the creativity.

    Reply

  4. theflyingpenwriter
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 04:27:39

    Awesome Muriel! Loved it. I think when we start looking out for things outside of what we know or are used to, we discover a brand new world and many opportunities come our ways.
    I am so glad you found out the right road for you. It definitely makes a difference.
    So I’ll keep the motto in my mind (as we have a good number of rainy days in Ireland too) and continue to read you with lots of pleasure.

    marie

    Reply

    • mumuGB (@JSJ2020)
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 09:09:06

      You are so right. My only regret is to have found about this whole new world a bit too late. But at the same time, I wouldn’t really appreciate my new life if it had started too soon…

      Reply

  5. Thom Brown
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 08:03:19

    A little more of the person revealed. Muriel is cool.

    Reply

  6. Marie from Rock The Kasbah
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 08:22:49

    Wow…the train tracks take you from the train to the tree! Where next?

    Reply

  7. PORTIA
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 08:27:56

    Once a stream starts flowing It has to become a river.
    -PORTIA

    Reply

  8. Mary Hudak-Collins
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 09:07:28

    Wow! What a great story…going from what was expected from you to what you really found you enjoyed! It would be so nice if everyone in life could find this solitude 🙂 Seriously, I enjoyed your post. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Reply

  9. Hocam
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 13:27:17

    We all have multiple intelligences but don’t use them. We tend to develop one or two at the expense of the others. How wonderful it must feel to discover your creative side which was in direct contrast of how you viewed yourself. Perhaps you feel happier now because you have more balance in your life?
    Good luck with your new venture. I hope it keeps going from strength to strength. And I would buy the book:-)

    Reply

  10. Adriene (Sweepy Jean)
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 22:50:26

    Muriel, it’s never too late. Now that you’re finding your joy in being creative, never let it go and enjoy it now, every day! 🙂

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 15:16:16

      Adriene…would love for you to do this as well. contact me

      Reply

    • mumuGB (@JSJ2020)
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 15:16:28

      Thank you for your kind words. I have to admit that I sometimes feel a bit ridiculous. It is as if I was catching up on everything that I missed while I was sooooo busy doing “serious” things. Maybe it is just a phase. Maybe it is here to stay. I will find out where this leads me anyway!

      Reply

  11. zencherry
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 15:20:41

    Muriel, I’ve left a comment on your blog as well as here. Please leave your twitter tag. I tried using your twitter button, but no luck! You are most definitely a must follow.

    Stuart…wow. Wonderful series.

    Reply

  12. stacey
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 20:12:12

    Love this post, Muriel!
    So true, and interesting how we grow into feeling like we are who we are …. finally! (At least for me it feels like… finally!!!! Yay!!!!!!)
    Love it!

    Reply

  13. Joy
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 17:46:05

    Truly inspiring! I didn’t know you were into collages! That’s pretty cool! Thank you for sharing more of you, Muriel, and for this series Stuart!

    Reply

  14. bornstoryteller
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 08:18:01

    Muriel…it was a pleasure. Let’s do this again.

    Reply

  15. Penelope J.
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 23:48:39

    Muriel, Who would have thought you had all that bundled up creativity inside just waiting to be let loose – in a language not your own. So you went from maths and science to art and writing. I suppose we often have hidden talents waiting to be explored. Am go glad you started your blog and am a big fan.

    Reply

  16. Samantha Bangayan
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 10:47:37

    Stu, thank you so much for hosting this series! =) I’m loving it!

    Muriel, I could so relate to your story. I’ve always been in the sciences and have been encouraged my family to be practical and logical rather than creative. It wasn’t until I moved here to Peru when things started shaking up. I had no idea how I could make a living and freelance writing just fell into my life. I have never felt more creative and *free* in my life! =) Loved reading your story too and your collages are beautiful! =)

    Reply

  17. Trackback: Guest Post | French Yummy Mummy

Leave a Reply

