16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meglovesvoncy
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 02:07:00

    Reblogged this on sadlyMegCanSing and commented:
    haha this is quite funny but cool 😉

    Reply

  2. RAAckerman @ Cerebrations.biz
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 07:22:05

    And, if you missed the opportunity yesterday- you still can share part of the funds you will spend today (Black Friday). The “stores” that need you- Mazon, Goodwill, the Salvation Army, your local food bank.
    Please consider the value these stores provide for 15% of America- the poor.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 25, 2011 @ 07:26:54

      Thanks Roy. I support Goodwill/Salvation Army year round. Don’t know Mazon: will check it out.

      What got me was a holier then thou attitude about donating….when I asked a question, I was told they were ONLY accepting donations of clothing until Nov 30th. I understand dates and things, but….

      Reply

  3. PORTIA
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 07:31:59

    Nice thought. I read in ‘The Guardian’ that Americans tuck into about 46 million turkeys for Thanksgiving! Oh, those poor creatures!
    -PORTIA

    Reply

  4. bornstoryteller
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 07:36:22

    Thanks Portia. It’s not even the gorging I’m really going on about…that in itself is a whole ‘nuther mess of things

    Reply

  5. Sulekha Rawat
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 08:12:41

    Great message, why do we wait for the designated days to wish our loved ones. Happy father’s day is everyday, we don’t stop loving him till the next year’s father’s day, right?

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 25, 2011 @ 08:21:21

      Thank you Sulekha…I just had that conversation with someone special to me., btw…she feels the same way.

      Why do we fixate on certain days/times of the year due to advertising people. My saying I love You ON Valentines day is BS….surround the year with it, and special. showings, small oe large, when it’s not expected.

      Good will; to all? ye gods, why is that not on our minds all year long.

      Reply

  6. Roy Durham
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 10:08:46

    why a left over?why not give a new shirt or a fresh meal of the best you can find? why not a hand up instead of a hand me down? why? god bless shared your post and god bless
    happy thanksgiving

    Reply

  7. atomsofthought
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 13:53:02

    Well said! In ways I don’t know whether it’s good or bad that I can’t wrap my mind around the number of people in this world who go without food, shelter and the many necessities (and luxuries) I live with. I say that because if I REALLY understood, the magnitude of suffering in the world might just paralyze me and prevent me from doing anything about it. I confess to not doing enough. Nothing is ever enough.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 18:46:40

      Numbers are hard things….and they also take away from the actual person, reducing them to statistics. i love a quote from Joseph Stalin: “The death of one man is a tragedy. The death of millions is a statistic.” Put it in place of all those we reduce to numbers.

      Reply

  8. Kevin J. Parham
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 14:20:16

    Great post…everything you mentioned rings so true. Thanks for sharing!

    Best,
    Kevin

    Reply

  9. Joy
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 13:57:43

    Very well said Stuart! I loved how you were still able to tie this in with ‘Creativity’! And yes, I agree with the culture of over-indulgence which I’m still adjusting to even after 7years since migrating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

