39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zencherry
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 05:32:30

    I have an example of kindergarten happy turning to first grade bricks.

    Youngest child: Teacher pinned a naughty badge on his shirt, (on the first day of school), and made him wear it all through the day and then on the bus home to me because he “sang in the bathroom”. It said it in big red letters on his badge.

    My favorite quote for creativity:
    “Every creative act involves… a new innocence of perception, liberated from the cataract of accepted belief.” Arthur Koestler

    Maybe if we made everyone sing it in the bathroom it’d catch on? 😀

    Reply

  2. Lisa Wields Words
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 07:26:28

    That makes my heart hurt. I am going to declare today as singing in the bathroom day for all family members. It has begun, with my husband shaving right now. 😉 I love that quote.

    Thanks for the comment.

    Lisa

    Reply

    • zencherry
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 10:58:31

      Awww! Yes! Going to go sing in the bathroom right now! 😀 You’re awesome Lisa! I’ll write a few refrains just for you!

      Reply

      • Lisa Wields Words
        Nov 28, 2011 @ 15:54:32

        I hope you do. Sarah just got home from school, went to the bathroom and sang at the top of her lungs. I couldn’t help but smile.

  3. Trackback: Announcing a Guest Post « Woman Wielding Words
  4. Lisa Wields Words
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 07:32:57

    Stuart, thank you for including me in this wonderful series.

    Lisa

    Reply

  5. Rick G
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 07:43:06

    Great post. Reminds me of this one job I worked at. You were either a designer aka one of the “creative people” or not. I was there as a programmer but I would frequently have managers say “Wow. Its almost like you’re one of the Creative People”. They’d say it like it was a compliment but it just cemented that they were a bunch of dopes in my opinion. All of us had potential to be creative but by throwing out labels all they were doing was helping to stifle it.

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 09:26:29

      Thanks, Rick. So much of our lives and opinions of ourselves come down to labels. If we could all just be part of a team, each contributing to our strengths, I think we could accomplish so much more rather than barricading ourselves behind labels.

      Lisa

      Reply

  6. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 08:03:00

    Great post, Lisa. It is so sad to think that self-consciousness and perfectionism can creep into creativity as early as 1st grade. No wonder my university students have struggled. Thanks for this helpful insight into the creative process.
    Kathy

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 19:48:29

      LOL Kathy, I can’t help but think that “self-consciousness and perfectionism” are playing with you at the moment, and are part of the problem with your own struggle today.

      Lisa

      Reply

  7. LittleMissVix
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 08:06:57

    I agree, we should all have the opprutunity to use our imagination and create and not be scared we won’t be good enough!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Living With Creative Passion (Creativity Series: Guest Post ... | Random Creativity | Scoop.it
  9. thepetalpusher
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 20:00:00

    Bravo, Lisa. Well-done post. My brother was always discouraged in art class in high school because he didn’t follow the rules. He is now an engineer AND an artist!

    Reply

  10. Arlee Bird
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 22:04:01

    Often I think we don’t see our own creativity for the reasons relating to upbringing or education that you mention here. We also our own worst judge. It’s like the comment I’ve often seen made on my memoir blog that no one would want to read about the commenter’s life because it’s boring–boring to them maybe but we the readers might be interested.

    Kids should be allowed to let their creativity flourish and the educational system should be there to provide guidance and encouragement and to add to the student’s bank of knowledge. It should not coerce them into conforming to a bland future of not using their creative energies.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Enjoy my delightful interview with Susan Kane on
    Wrote By Rote Saturday 11/26

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:07:39

      It’s funny Lee, yesterday I was struggling with my own brain. I kept feeling I have no story to tell, who would want to read anything about me. It just proves that even the most creative people can have moments of fear which block creativity, and without encouragement that creativity will remain blocked. That is sad for two reasons. First the world never benefits from that person’s burst of creative energy. And second, living trapped in that fear and the feeling it creates in you, is a horrible way to live.

      Thanks for reading,

      Lisa

      Reply

  11. RAAckerman@Cerebrations.biz
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 23:42:34

    Ah,this reminds me of one of my favorite cartoons- published in a very techy journal (ok, more like a rag, which listed the table of contents of every technical journal published each week)- Current Contents.
    There was a sign in front of this big modern building… The BioTech Corp. Below it, the sign stated… A We Will Make You Equal Employer….

    Reply

  12. jan
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 01:25:36

    Wonderful piece, creativity is every where in our lives or anyway it is in mine….I’ll be off to sing in the bathroom now..

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:10:52

      Yay, Jan. Join the singing in the bathroom choir. Our bathrooms rang with all kinds of songs yesterday and it was joyous. 🙂

      Reply

  13. Savira
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 02:53:35

    Creativity lives within us and it is up to us bring it alive.. Great post

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:12:35

      Thank you Savira. It is so sad how often we never nurture the creative within us, either through our own fears or because nobody gives us the freedom to do that. So the creativity never comes to life, and the world lacks.

      Lisa

      Reply

  14. Lawrence Bergfeld
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 06:22:20

    We must overcome uncreativity and do anything that is possible. Lets cut out the word impossible from the dictonary and replace it with I’m possible!!

    Lawrence Bergfeld

    Reply

  15. Lawrence P. Bergfeld (@LawrenceHiker)
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 06:23:21

    We must overcome uncreativity and do anything that is possible. Lets cut out the word impossible from the dictonary and replace it with I’m possible!!

    Lawrence Bergfeld

    Reply

  16. Lisa Wields Words
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 07:13:24

    I’m possible, Lawrence! I’m possible!

    Love it. Thanks for reading.

    Reply

  17. Rose
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 22:40:12

    Lisa, you’ve given me an eyeopener putting it this way. I have always chalked up people who say they’re not creative with people like me, who say we’re not athletic. I thought of it as a matter of degree. I can jog a block if necessary, or throw a ball, but almost everybody can do it better than I can. I suppose that comparative is part of the problem.

    You’re absolutely right that there is creativity in all moments of our lives. Some of us will make more divergent choices than others, but it’s there for us all to enjoy!

    Thanks for hosting, Stuart!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 22:53:04

      You are most welcome.

      Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:42:14

      Rose, I think it is all a matter of degrees and perception. We can’t all be the best athletes, nor can we all be the most talented singers or musicians or whatever. But, we all have the ability to do a little bit of each. Just as sports require practice and the development of muscles, so does creativity. With practice we all can be athletes and we all can be creative people. Does that make sense?

      Reply

      • Rose
        Nov 30, 2011 @ 11:26:43

        It absolutely makes sense and gives me a primer to encourage my non-existant children to have fun with it always!

  18. bornstoryteller
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:56:52

    Folks, I’ve said it here many times, in many different posts: you can do creative things; don’t compare to anyone else and don’t let anyone compare/judge you against anyone else. We all CAN sing, dance, paint, act, etc…there is the basic/primative just doing it for doing it sake, and then you jfind those who enjoy it enough to practice and perfect….and to me…it’s all good.

    DO ART, in any discipline, if it brings you joy in doing so.

    Thank you Lisa. Great post/great discussions

    Reply

  19. Trackback: Losing My Mojo, But Dancing and Singing Honestly Anyway « Woman Wielding Words
  20. mlnhrhrpw@gmail.com
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 18:37:27

    So then, how can you explain the influence of the past in other than Jungian terms? Using his psychological template, there are perhaps only a few handbag shapes that combine function and aesthetics, and they dominate throughout time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

