37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zencherry
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 09:29:21

    Awww this is FANTASTIC! I’m going to spend the rest of the day trying to figure out how to make a badge. 😉 Wish me luck, this could get messy. 😀

    Reply

  2. Lisa Wields Words
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 09:30:16

    Love, LOVE, LOVE!!!!! I’m singing that actually. Heck, forget singing in the shower, sing when you feel like it. I’ve always wanted my life to be a musical, breaking into spontaneous song whenever the need to express emotion happens.

    There was still a lot of singing going on in the bathroom this morning. I think I’ve started something here.

    Join the movement!

    Lisa

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 09:51:51

      Just changed it to Sing Everywhere Movement….yeah, you are right. Screw just the bathroom/shower

      Reply

      • zencherry
        Nov 29, 2011 @ 15:07:50

        Changed the badge to ‘sing everywhere’ (loudly). Please tell me if it’s not what you had in mind. I am a rank amateur at this stuff. Any artists are welcome to change, throw away or whatever with it. Whew. New found respect for the paintbrush wielders and such…let me tell ya. 😀
        Liz, it’s on my website right now in the sidebar. We’re still trying to see if it’s a keeper or not. 😉

      • TheWritingReader (@WritingReader)
        Nov 29, 2011 @ 23:23:11

        Yay! I’ve got to put it on my blog!

  3. Julia Munroe Martin
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 09:37:16

    I love this idea! And since I’m home alone, I’ll just sing everywhere in the whole darn house!!! (p.s. that teacher sounds AWFUL! How ridiculously archaic to pin a naughty badge. HATE THAT! BUT I will proudly wear the naughty badge!)

    Reply

  4. TheWritingReader (@WritingReader)
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 13:38:05

    The badge isn’t showing up, which is a shame because I would wear it proudly. I sing everywhere whenever I want to. Including at work.Ha!

    Reply

  5. The Golden Eagle
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 14:27:25

    I’m so going to sing today. Make that now, in fact. 🙂

    Reply

  6. zencherry
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 19:21:41

    I’ve got a new one up with reds and yellows and pinks as asked. Tell me what you think. Honestly. I needs de helps on dis. I am not otherwise known as an artist. 😉

    Reply

    • Lisa Wields Words
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 20:02:37

      I love it even better. I’m going to put it on my blog and use it in a post tomorrow (giving you credit of course).

      Reply

      • zencherry
        Nov 29, 2011 @ 20:21:39

        Yay! Stuart asked if I would change it back to saying Sing out Loud Naughty Badge in pinks, so that’s what’s up now. Whew! Stuart, what say you? I think the white borders around loud look like a kindergartner did it. hahaha! Now we all know why I didn’t do art as a living. 😀

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 29, 2011 @ 23:36:13

      I’m lovin it!!!

      Reply

  7. deborahnscatteredmusing
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 19:41:09

    I was out today at my local craft store, as I was walking down the isles getting the things I needed I started singing. Craft stores always smell so festive at this time of year it makes me peppy. So I am shopping and singing (not like I am singing really loud) but some lady walks by me and gives me a look (one of those looks that make you feel like you’ve done a naughty thing) I smiled and decided to follow her around the corner this time as I passed I sung a little louder. I just don’t get it how is someone being happy and sharing in their joy so wrong? I really wished I had a naughty button handy. I would have put it on and sang louder as I passed her in the isle.

    I agree sing out, dance, finger paint on the walls!! BTW where can I get that naughty button? :))

    Really enjoyed both this and the quest post. I guess I just like being naughty. (or laughing at the ones that think I am)

    Reply

  8. TheWritingReader (@WritingReader)
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 23:32:59

    It’s up on my blog linked back to this post. Awesome!

    Reply

  9. Mary Hudak-Collins
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 06:58:31

    Stuart, it is a shame that this crap goes on, but I’m not sure that we can ever change it. Like Deborah said about the lady’s response to her singing in the store…miserable people love misery and seem to strive in it, they hate happy people…plain and simple. I can’t count the number of times that my happy, go-lucky attitude has been squelched by another out in public. Now that I’m older, it doesn’t bother me and I love coming across someone like that. By the time they leave the store, they wish they had never even looked in my direction 🙂
    You would think that in the school system, the adults would have more sense. With their training, they should invite a happy attitude because it aids in learning making their jobs easier. But for some reason, some people just enjoy bursting other people’s bubbles, especially when they are children 😦

    Reply

  10. Anna Sides
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:01:08

    That story breaks my heart! How could they demean a child like that. I believe I would have been to the school board and on to the local newspapers. I would have made sure that people were aware of their unacceptable behavior. What a way to diminish a child’s self-esteem 😦
    I will proudly display your badge with a link back to your site…with honor!

    Reply

  11. Li @Flash Fiction
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:21:37

    Long story, but I had a 4th grade teacher who taught by shame and ridicule. Eventually my Mom went up to school and complained about her making us wear dunce caps, signs, pacifiers around our necks for babyish behavior, etc. I suffered from a mysterious gastrointestinal complaint all of that year, to the point where I could barely eat anything but mashed potatoes and applesauce. It cleared up when i was in 5th grade, and looking back I’m guessing it was just stress that was making me so sick.
    As for singing out loud, I sing terribly. May I hum?

    Reply

    • zencherry
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:25:53

      You sing loud and clear in whatever key you like. You’ve got natural harmony, way I figure. I’ll catch your key and sing it with you. Who’s with me?

      Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:40:56

      Li…you know my feeling…you joiin in as off key and off tune and off ANYTHING….no judgments of what singing is, what dancing is, what art is….just do.

      Zen….harmony time for everyone!!!!

      Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 07:42:49

      and damn to all the adults who do crap like that to kids and other adults!!!! So sorry you had to suffer like that.

      Reply

  12. Trackback: Losing My Mojo, But Dancing and Singing Honestly Anyway « Woman Wielding Words
  13. Edward Lebowitz
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 09:41:23

    I mostly sing in the car, so as not to inflict my voice on others. However, I understand wanting to sing in public school bathrooms because of the reverberating acoustics–I’m sure I did it myself. Tunnels are good for the same reason. I remember getting shaken by my first grade teacher for taking a drink from the water fountain when we were just supposed to use the bathroom. It’s amazing what sticks in your mind. I also had to wear a dunce cap and put my gum on my nose now and then. This will of course turn out to the child’s advantage as it will give him a nice story to tell when he grows up. However, in the meantime he may hate school and take decades to grow out of the shame.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 09:45:48

      Edward, welcome…and sing your heart out!!!! Nice story? hmmm…story, yes. Nice…no. I’d love to tell some of my teachers and past bosses off for the “stories” they inflicted upon me, as I’m sure many of us would.

      Sing when you want to Ed. Sing out loud!!

      Reply

  14. Jill B
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 22:35:38

    This is a very late comment, bu I just read this blog.
    A number of years ago I had the unfortunate experience of being in a psych ward for a couple weeks. One day the group of about 10 people on our floor, (some for depression, some anxiety, one OCD, you get the picture), were in one room on free time. We got kind of rowdy and some got to arguing, throwing stuff around the room, all harmless, just loud. One of the staff nurses came in and told us we better settle down. SO settle we did, and someone started to sng, I joined in, then someone else, and in a few minutes we were all sitting together singing and smiling and even finding harmonies. So what happens next? you got it. Two nurses come in and tell us to settle down and stop being so noisy !!. Well, two of us did go out to the office and lodge a complaint , but it didnt get us anywhere. Humbugs!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

