12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zencherry
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 09:30:47

    I love that quote you’ve got up, (and your post – natch!) 😉

    Reply

  2. Denise Ahlquist
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 18:24:46

    “Real teaching demands energy.

    To instruct calls for energy, and to remain almost silent, but watchful and helpful, while students instruct themselves, calls for even greater energy.

    To see someone fall (which will teach him not to fall again) when a word from you would keep him on his feet but ignorant of an important danger, is one of the tasks of the teacher that calls for special energy, because holding in is more demanding than crying out.”

    from The Rebel Angels by Robertson Davies

    (I think you could substitute “creativity” for energy in the quote above with similar truthfulness. Teaching is creative problem-solving!)

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 10:42:55

    There’s definitely not enough creativity in the schools. My daughter becomes frustrated because even in art class they are told what to make, how to make it..and even corrected if their creation doesn’t match their teacher’s.

    Hope you have a great holiday. 🙂

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 15:30:28

      Yup…the old Rote system: regurgitate, don’t think for yourselves. This is what I saw and experienced in the elementary school I worked in. NOT in the arts classes, but…sigh.

      You too, Jessica.

      Reply

  4. tumultuousjourney
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 13:17:48

    I am not an educator in the normal terms, not by a long shot. I know that when I sit down to help my grand kids with their homework, I muster up some creativity to keep them interested, oh my yes, the energy it takes. I work with them on chores devising new ways to keep it interesting for them and get the job done. I agree there is a lot of creativity in education. Great quote.

    Reply

  5. RAAckerman @ Cerebrations.biz
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 08:13:13

    Maybe that’s the issue- many folks don’t consider creativity each day- only when they get around to it!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Dec 24, 2011 @ 09:11:16

      I agree, Roy. Not only don’t consider it, but think it’s only in the arts related fields. A lot more creative action and planning goes on that people don’t see or don’t see as viable. Thanks.

      Reply

  6. Amy
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 21:33:59

    I like your last paragraph. Creativity extends throughout one’s day, not just in the classroom. As an educator of third graders, I have to be creative all day long. There are lesson plans to create, differentiated instruction to provide for my different learners, creative ideas to implement classroom management and creativity in keeping kids motivated when work gets tough. So in my opinion, the teaching profession itself requires a lot of creativity. I try to provide as many moments as possible for my students to be creative within the context of their learning. Even providing choices and opportunities to complete assignments in different ways is just one example. It does get more difficult to do plays and readers’ theater when the class size is over 30. Sometimes there isn’t enough space to be as creative as I’d like. There’s my 2cents worth.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Creativity & educational instituitions - Cravenza

Leave a Reply

