Set Your Creativity Free (Creativity Series: Guest Blog)


One of the major pluses in being asked to join a group of writers Triberr is that I have “met” a  really nice group of people. In my search for guest blogs Raine Thomas is one of those writers who has taken my creativity challenge and run with it.

Sit back, relax… And set your creativity free

The Creativity Series: guest blog

Set Your Creativity Free:  Raine Thomas

Thanks, Stu, for the invite to visit with your readers today! It’s a pleasure to be here. I can only hope to entertain them a fraction as much as you—such a talented storyteller—usually do.

It’s funny. When Stuart mentioned that he was sponsoring a series of guest posts about creativity, my first thought was: Sure! I’m a writer. Not only that, but my books are YA fantasy/romance. You have to have a lot of creativity to write successfully in that genre, right? I can SO do this.

So why did I sit down to write this blog and stare at the blank page without a thing jumping into my head?

Look, it happens…those terrible moments when what usually flows so naturally for us screeches to a soul-wrenching stop. For writers, of course, it’s called writer’s block. For other artists, well, whatever the term, the result is the same.

Our creativity feels imprisoned inside us. It leaves us frustrated and concerned. It might even make us question our own abilities.

What to do, what to do?

In my case, I often use music and meditation (of sorts) to break ideas free. I’m even now listening to Spotify and chilling on my love seat as I type. The songs I’ve opted to listen to include the latest hit list. A song by Mat Kearney (“You Can Count on Me”) just triggered something that had me pausing in my blog writing to jot a note for my WIP. That kind of thing happens for me a lot. I LOVE music!

Life also provides inspiration when writer’s block sets in. I have a five-year-old daughter with more drama contained in her 45-inch frame than you’ll find at Juilliard on any given day. I’ll sit down at my laptop for an hour and when I glance up, she’s flouncing into the room wearing a neon pink boa, huge sunglasses and sparkly high-top sneakers , waving a flashlight and pretending to lead a parade of—get this—gypsy clowns. You know when I see that kind of magic in my own family room that I have to find a way to fit it into my stories.

If I still find myself scratching my head over my writing, I look to other ways to release my creativity. Sometimes that means borrowing some colored pencils from my daughter and sketching something, or even just coloring a page of her My Little Pony coloring book with her. Other times, I might look through magazines and mentally refurnish my house (with someone else’s checkbook). Another (okay, strange) activity that works for me is washing the dishes. More often than not, by focusing on simple things outside of my writing, I set my creativity free.

I’ve been asked many times since my books were published how I thought of the Estilorian world I created. The answer? I made sure my creativity was flowing as freely as possible every time I wrote.

Now you know how I did that—and you know what? I managed to pen a blog about it, after all!

Raine Thomas is the author of the exciting and original series of YA fantasy/romance novels about the Estilorian plane, including the Daughters of Saraqael trilogy and the upcoming Firstborn trilogy. She is a proud member of Romance Writers of America and is a contributing blogger to The Writer’s Voice. When she isn’t planning weddings, writing or glued to social networking sites, she can usually be found on one of Florida’s beaches with her husband and daughter or crossing the border to visit with her Canadian friends and relatives.
Raine Thomas
Daughters of Saraqael Trilogy:
BECOMING | CENTRAL | FORETOLD
http://www.RaineThomas.com
http://twitter.com/Raine_Thomas

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zencherry
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 11:51:45

    Wooooot! Raine Thomas! Stuart, you’ve definitely got the literati involved now. 😀

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Set Your Creativity Free (Creativity Series: Guest Blog ... | Journaling | Scoop.it
  3. Lisa Wields Words
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 14:53:43

    Great post Raine and Stuart. It’s encouraging to see that even published writer’s struggle with creativity once in a while.

    Reply

  4. J. R. Nova
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 22:06:37

    I have had some success with simply starting over. Just starting with a fresh, clean page can help me approach a story from a different direction from the direction I was stuck on.

    Reply

  5. Raine Thomas
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 17:58:11

    Thanks for the comments, everyone–and thanks for having me over for this guest post, Stuart! It was so much fun. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Erica Lucke Dean
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 23:24:49

    Awesomesauce! Love Raine! Thanks for this!!

    Reply

  7. dcmcmillen
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 13:26:54

    Excellent post in tips, Raine!

    Reply

  8. Rachel Thompson (@RachelintheOC)
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 04:10:03

    Great post, Raine. I love your books. I have two children and I too find that cleaning my kitchen is a great mental break from writing. Who’d woulda thunk it, right? I think sometimes exercising those different parts of our brain (or perhaps resting them?) gives us that break (or breakthrough) we need.

    I personally enjoy really difficult, complicated Mandalas or (it sounds silly but oh well) dot-to-dots. They make them for grown-ups! It frees my mind and I love the guided imagery.

    xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

