14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara Martin
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 16:59:44

    Great post! It’s so important for Creatives to apply the same outside-the-box thinking to logistics as they do to content. If you’ve got something great to share with the world, go find an unorthodox way to share! Not everything costs money.

    Reply

  2. Lisa Wields Words
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 17:10:07

    I love this idea of bartering, and I think in some ways I have done it but not to the best of my ability. Something to think about.

    Check out this post by a friend of me about revolutionary ideas towards getting people to come to theatre http://mixedbloodblog.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/revolutionary-access-chapter-1/

    Reply

  3. PeggyLee Hanson
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 20:00:52

    I bartered my Dream Coaching… taking a client through the process — and I received reflexology sessions in return. It was wonderful!

    Reply

  4. pjart48
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 20:45:00

    Glad to see the well organized Barter program for the Hospital. I think The State Arts Councils could get long signed petitions from artists thru their Arts Councils from all over the USA, making this possible everywhere. An important way to support the artists bring creative inspirations to all ages. Tough times. are here for awhile. I think it might need to start with forms filled out by those who need heathcare and what their skills are etc. This could create a data base for the all important numbers to show the need in each region.Feels like a win win. I’m in Virginia – who’s in the other states that would want to propose it. We could choose a month and date and present the same request on the same day all over! Artsist always have a big heart, donating their talents for fundraisers for NON – profits that serve community, to help others who have lost everything to a storm, etc. I have 60 musicians perform for 2 hours to raise money for two families who lost loved ones in a fire. WE do alot with our artforms – but sometimes its not $ we get in return. Some help in fair trade would be sensable, plausable and honorable!

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Jan 29, 2012 @ 19:10:37

      Totally agree with you. Keep up the good work

      Reply

      • pjart48
        Jan 30, 2012 @ 10:06:55

        I sent the article to a regional Arts museum to see if they thought they would want to start the ball rolling and they are meeting about it next week with their board. I’ll update you when I here if it is a go etc.They have a staewide profile so if we set thedirection and outline of how to and where to I think It might happen – but realistically it might take a year. Since health issues are never ending this is still a hopeful thing – which when you think of the potential doors it will open to meeting people at the hospitals that might want to have you do something at their school or event etc. it has much potential.

      • bornstoryteller
        Jan 30, 2012 @ 10:16:27

        I am excited that you’re taking this along. Please keep us informed of how it goes.

  5. Jill B
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 22:08:37

    I have bartered my handmade greeting cards for haircuts. My hairdresser puts the cards out in her shop for sale to her clients. I am trying to expand this, but am happy that it has worked so far.
    To take it to the level of medical care is a fantastic idea , and should be expanded if it works. !

    Reply

  6. Pamanner
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 23:28:33

    Very cool! Bartering is still relevant to today and you’ve shown us some ways it is still active! Like it!

    Reply

  7. Penelope J.
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 17:05:30

    Good idea! A lot of the world’s biggest deals are actually a barter of sorts. I don’t know what I can add to your list as it hadn’t occurred to me to barter my art. However, I agreed to edit a friend’s manuscript in exchange for him editing mine. He proposed this and I was very flattered that he, a professional editor, would value my editing that highly. I’d say that’s a barter though I suspect I got the better deal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

