Creativity and Web Design (The Creativity Series: Guest Blog)


Eleanor Kleiner is a one of those people you are just glad comes into your life. We worked together for a short while and became friends. I got to know her as a very creative spirit in both her music and her art. She left for London, met her (now) husband, formed a new band…and is just someone YOU should know.

So…Musician, Web Designer, Artist…Creative Spirit…

The Creativity Series Guest Post:

Creativity and Web Design: Eleanor Kleiner

About a year ago I mentioned to Stu that I was learning web design.  What that really meant was haphazardly playing around on Photoshop at a VERY leisurely pace.  So, when Stu asked me to design him a website I hesitantly agreed to try, actually having no idea if this was something I could pull off.

Luckily, I did pull it off and it turned out to be a far more creative process than I had previously imagined (of course, building a site for a creative person who used phrases like “flight of fancy” and adjectives like “swirly” to describe want he wants, definitely helps).  I also found that having a real world project to complete made learning a lot faster.

Being a musician and creative person, before I began this undertaking I had found the idea of web design to be, at most, a palatable way to make money, but still pretty dull…and Photoshop was a completely daunting obstacle.  But as soon as I started speaking with Stu about what he envisioned for his website, ideas started flowing to me.  It was a really exciting experience, to be inspired about something which had previously been a complete unknown.

I started seeing people’s websites as extensions of themselves in the virtual landscape of the internet.  It’s like a whole new(ish) dimension in which people can present themselves in any way they wish, and my job is to listen and really get a feel for what they want, and then translate that into a site which reflects their vision and is also easy to navigate.

Finding ways to meld the client’s desires and the constraints of the medium into an aesthetically pleasing and user-friendly site is a creative challenge, and it allows me to be creative in a completely different way than songwriting does.  With songwriting, I’ve always taken a relatively passive approach, waiting for inspiration to hit and then following it until it runs out.

With web design, I’m finding that having specific projects with various deadlines is allowing me to take a more proactive approach, and I find that the inspiration comes eventually – it just takes some coaxing.  When writing a song, I tend to become emotionally invested in the result, which hugely hinders my creativity.  The idea that I’m helping someone else create a website, rather than creating something from scratch, takes my ego out of the equation and seems to make being creative a whole lot easier.

So far, the experience has made me aware that trying new creative endeavors is vital for me as an artist.  I think that the more creative avenues we explore, the more we grow.

It’s also served as proof for me that no matter how daunting something may seem, if you just jump in and put one foot in front of the other, you’ll get where you’ve wanted to go!

www.ekleiner.com

Biography
Over the past six years, classically trained vocalist Eleanor Kleiner and French bassist Elie Brangbour have traveled the world on an adventure that began when the two met at music school in London. With a shared passion for music and travel, they took their unique brand of folk/rock across continents, logging enough frequent flier miles to make any avid traveler jealous.

Full of imagery and stories of the human condition, The Whispering Tree‘s songwriting is the backbone of their sound and has been heavily influenced by their travels abroad, which have taken them from South America to China.

Following a seven month gig in Macau and the release of their self-titled EP, The Whispering Tree returned to New York City, where they released their full-length album, Go Call The Captain, in 2010. The Big Takeover calls their latest release “one of the year’s most luminous albums” and Deli Magazine named them “one of the most talented duos to take stage in NYC.”

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlee Bird
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 01:38:08

    Enjoyed this post a great deal. I went to the “Whispering Tree” website. Now, that’s my kind of music. Loved it.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Reply

  2. The Social Frog
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 09:16:29

    Very interesting post!

    Reply

  3. Scattered Musings of A Creative Mind
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 09:39:53

    Great guest post. It reminds me so much of myself. I love designing a new site and later come back and see how much I’ve grown between each site. I’ve probably created several mock sites, just to dabble in it 🙂

    Loved your post…

    http://scatteredmusings.net/2012/02/featured-blog-hops/

    Reply

  4. Hajra
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 10:20:25

    I am loving these series. Will visit the site right now! Thanks for introducing them to us! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Marie
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 10:54:40

    I agree awesome series! Interesting how a different perspective changes the creative flow.

    Reply

  6. RAAckerman @ Cerebrations.biz
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 12:50:19

    Thanks for the share. I believe your music has already been shared by Stuart. (He never could keep a secret…)

    Reply

  7. Azedine
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 18:14:57

    It was a pleasure to read your posting and of course I will check the music website.
    Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  8. Long Island Web Design
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 04:25:49

    Nice Article i really enjoy to read it………..Thanks for Sharing.

    Long Island Web Design

    Reply

  9. Home Healthcare Arizona
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 05:32:38

    Nice Article. Its very informative about Web design. Web design is the process of planning and creating a website. Text, images, digital media and interactive elements are used by web designers to produce the page seen on the web browser

    Reply

  10. Eleanor
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 12:51:41

    Stu, thanks for inviting me to guest post on your blog – and for all the folks who read and commented, thank you!
    If you liked the music and are in the area The Whispering Tree is having a show in NYC on March 3 at The Village Lantern (info at http://www.thewhisperingtree.com).
    Hope to see ya soon!

    Reply

  11. Web Design
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 00:54:18

    Thanks for Sharing!!

    It was Awesome to read this blog..The creativity and Web-designs of Eleanor is really impressing…

    Reply

  12. IT support
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 04:03:37

    This is really good , keep it up !

    Reply

  13. Ronnie
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 14:46:58

    “no matter how daunting something may seem, if you just jump in and put one foot in front of the other, you’ll get where you’ve wanted to go!”

    Such a true statement about anything you do really. Amazing post and thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  14. Web design
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 07:34:07

    Indeed a very good article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

