24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Wields Words
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 11:02:59

    This is so exciting Stuart, and definitely an area that I am interested in exploring as well. I took a workshop with Sally Bailey, a drama therapist, where she adapted some of the tools of the trade to work for elderly patients particularly those with alzheimers. I am excited to learn more about the program you did, and about the possibilities for the future.

    Reply

  2. RAAckerman@Cerebrations.biz
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 12:59:01

    I love to hear that we will no longer be just depositing our elders (oh, wait- ME) in nursery schools for the elderly. Maybe there’s something I can enjoy there!

    Reply

  3. carolinaheartstrings
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 13:25:53

    Been thinking alot about aging lately and this is encouraging. I figure retirement and beyond will allow more time for creativity and maybe creativity will allow opportunity for more time…

    Reply

  4. Kathy Lynn Hall
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 13:34:28

    Thanks for the post, Stuart! I think there are parts of American society that is beginning to think differently about aging, especially since the numbers are growing exponentially. You’ve given me an idea for an area I’d like to explore. Thanks again.

    Reply

  5. Bonnie - Your Better Living Maven!
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 14:07:57

    Exciting projects to be a part of Stuart! Congrats! I’m looking forward to hearing how these new challlenges work for you.

    Reply

  6. Janette Fuller
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 14:51:04

    This program sound wonderful, Stuart. I think senior citizens will love to participate in art, crafts and performing arts.

    Reply

  7. PeggyLee Hanson
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 17:27:36

    While growing up, an elderly neighbor told us young girls to do things each day to keep our minds young. Esther passed away at 81. Really, I don’t know what old looks like. My grandparents lived into their 80’s and 90’s. My husband’s grandmother lived until 102. They all kept active in their golden years. I’m not so certain that no one paid much attention to the elderly folk back then as they do now. I did hear that 80 may be the new 65…. 😉

    Reply

  8. Maura O'Malley
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 20:15:53

    Good to hear you’re sharing your experiences with creative aging stakeholders. There is so much going on in this field – including more opportunities for teaching artists to contribute. Keep in touch with us at Lifetime Arts. Congratulations, Stuart!

    Reply

  9. Barbara Sysak
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 10:57:39

    Thanks for your post on our Facebook page. Right on with your work, your passion and the research on aging. Creative Aging Mid-South provides over 550 performances and arts workshops a year to older adults. Mostly in care facilities. It is heartwarming to see residents come alive with access to the arts!

    Reply

  10. MuMuGB
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 09:03:27

    I think that what you are doing is great. I would love to see such activities for older people this side of the pond. It looks like it is going to take some time before it happens!

    Reply

  11. NCCA
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 09:27:15

    Looking forward to hearing about what work you’re doing in the field on your next post!

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Creative Aging and the Arts (Part 1) | All About Arts | Scoop.it
  13. Joy Page Manuel
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 07:24:43

    This is great news and I think it’s really exciting that you are part of this. It only makes sense, doesn’t it, given that population is indeed aging. I really think it’s great that the elderly are getting more attention and I believe it’s important that stereotypes about them are challenged.

    Reply

  14. zencherry
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 10:05:11

    Fantastic news Stuart! When my mother was studying to be a teacher, she brought me to a nursing home as part of a school assignment where I interviewed on cassette tape (yes I’m old), the residents. To this day, that day stands out in my memory as a life-altering perspective change. A worthwhile thing you’re doing Stuart. So proud of you. 😀

    Reply

  15. Bridie Moore
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 05:28:45

    Dear Stuart,
    I’m a 50 year old drama practitioner doing PhD research on age and ageing in theatre in Britain. As part of my study I am starting a theatre group made up of performers over 50 (most of them are likely to be over 60 actually and relatively fit and healthy); I would love to hear if there’s any literature available on working with elders through theatre (or the arts generally), or if you have any advice to give me about techniques and approaches that would be particularly fruitful. Your work in the US sounds fascinating and I hope this sort of work continues and reaches other countries and communities. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

