19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Richard Wiseman
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 04:40:50

    I like the idea of someone telling me a story. Why should the children have all the fun. It’s great listening to a story and I tell my children stories so why not enjoy it myself?

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 07:53:21

      Hi Richard: I agree. Being told a story is a wonderful thing. Look for some in England. I enjoyed listening to an Irish storyteller very much over the weekend. (among many others, natch).

      Reply

  2. Li @FlashFiction
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 07:18:16

    People tell each other stories all of the time throughout their lives- about their childhood, about events at work, etc., just in an abbreviated form. (And sometimes in a very dull way.) It’s as old as mankind – before there was writing, everything was passed down by oral tradition. I’ve never seen a professional storyteller (till now), and it looks like fun, especially when you draw the audience into it and add the spontaneous joke or two. I suppose that’s what makes it most appealing – the fact that it’s interactive and has a bit of theater to it. I enjoyed the Cat of Chelm a lot 🙂 And I’m glad that there are those of you who are keeping an ancient tradition alive in this “modern” age of tweets and texts.

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 07:55:21

      Hi Li: conversational storytelling is one of the basics of life: we’re all made up of stories.

      We got news from stories, passing down of histories and adventures, cautionary tales in the guise of fairy tales (which were originally for adults), and so much more.
      Glad you liked the performance.

      Reply

  3. Rivka Willick
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 09:23:34

    Stuart,

    Great article. It was also great hearing and seeing you perform at the NJ Storytelling Festival.

    Modern storytellers are taking one of the oldest art forms to new places. Since orally composed tales can be performed anywhere about anything, there really are no limits. A master teller can standup and mesmerize an audience simply with words or weave in any and all art forms.

    Unfortunately storytellers are often the black sheep of the arts community. I’ve been invited to perform at festivals and events only to be told there is no storytelling category. I’ve been listed in dance!!! (I don’t dance), theater (I don’t act), and poetry. As a storyteller I’ve seen the magic of the spoken word tale ignite sales in a company, entertain diverse audiences, create healing in hospitals, and bring peace to victims of rape, discrimination, and disasters. The storyteller can make you laugh, cry, and scream (and all in the same telling).

    Stuart, thanks again for this blog. I’m looking forward to seeing storytelling performances in theaters, at events, and as part of celebrations more and more in the USA over the next few years.

    Rivka Willick

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 10:11:14

      Thank you Rivka. It was a pleasure seeing you again as well, and I am looking forward to collaborating in the future. Sharing the stage with your daughter was a nice thing: our stories were very complementary to each other.

      Yeah, storytelling needs legitimacy, Gotta work on that.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: What Storytelling Is (plus a video): NJ Storytelling Festival | Story and Narrative | Scoop.it
  5. MPax
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 10:30:38

    Looks like a marvelous event. One of my local crit partners is a storyteller.

    Reply

  6. Allan Douglas
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 15:53:11

    Here in the mountains we have some very talented storytellers and an occasional event like this one. I envy their abilities. Such a wonderful gift.

    Reply

  7. Steve Noble
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:11:05

    Stuart, I loved all of your stories at the NJ Storytelling Festival. You are a great performer. I was “there” in that movie theater with all the screaming girls at “A Hard Day’s Night”. I was “there” hiding out with you and your friends in the men’s room while the girls left the theater so you could sneak back to your seats and scrunch down to avoid being thrown out by the movie matron. That’s what a good storyteller is to me, a magician. They get me to feel / experience a moment in such a way that my memory gets fooled.
    Thanks, Steve Noble

    Reply

    • bornstoryteller
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:19:24

      Wow…thank you Steve. I enjoyed your telling as well: I was able to connect with what you told, and as you mentioned: that is the sign of what is magic in action. Thank you very much for the compliments. They are returned.

      Reply

  8. Brenda
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 16:21:52

    I really enjoyed. You are a natural. I think some people are gifted in the art of story telling ( live and in front of an audience) and others less so. I am a less so in front of a group, anyway. Thanks for posting.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: The Rule of Three | Vinny News
  10. zencherry
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 09:02:54

    LOVE it! 😀

    Reply

  11. Trackback: What Storytelling Is (plus a video): NJ Storytelling Festival | Creative Writing Inspiration | Scoop.it

Leave a comment