14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jan
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 15:10:37

    All so true, My dad used to do that with me, I remember things he talked about to this day.

    Reply

  2. Roy A. Ackerman, Ph.D., E.A. @Cerebrations.biz
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 15:32:25

    A leader who has no story to share has no followers (ipso facto, he is not a leader).
    A parent who tells its child(ren) no stories has no wisdom to impart and makes little impression on their lives.
    A human who has no inner story cannot inflame the passions of life and accomplish dreams.
    A story need not be fiction, it need not be totally factual, but it must be true.

    Reply

  3. Damyanti
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 21:36:45

    Talked AT; not with. There is a big difference here; when you can connect and find your own meaning in something, the “lesson” you take out of it will last longer for you.

    Completely agree with that last line.

    Reply

  4. zencherry
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 04:44:06

    I just have to tell you that every time I come to your blog, I get a deeper sense of what is it to be a better person. You are magnificent, you really are.

    Reply

  5. bornstoryteller
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 08:08:28

    OK…I am blushing so hard my face is going to burst into flames.

    Thank you.

    Reply

  6. Penelope J.
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 14:01:11

    You’re so right about storytelling being an integral part of our lives. I agree that corporate storytelling is huge. Who wants to listen to dry summaries and reports? How many politicians use stories to illustrate their messages. Stories light up our lives and give us something to identify with.

    Sometimes, I think of my storyteller ancestors (and yours) sitting around their fires in caves at night. Storytelling must go back to the birth of words or maybe beyond to gestures.

    Of the quotes you included, the one that struck me most was yours, “We are all made up of stories.” However, not everyone has the talent to them.

    Reply

  7. somebody
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 04:47:08

    My dedication to the Storyteller of This Story (blogpost), as well as the storyteller in us all, from a Fellow Storyteller of Life [and Everything and Nothing]:

    Sarah Kay ForTheWin (FTW 😉

    What comes from the heart goes to the heart.

    Reply

  8. Maintenance Man
    Oct 30, 2011 @ 16:42:16

    whether it informs, entertains or just serves as a form of expression, all writing is art. Thanks for keeping that alive.

    Reply

Leave a comment