14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 04:04:47

    Thanks Stuart and Toby,

    Lovely post and so sensual, I could not agree more to finding creative food for the brains in nature and I love your “slow down enough to process the sensory input around you, and let it fill your creative well.”

    Reply

  2. Victoria-writes
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 11:18:05

    Lovely post. Congrats on the latest book!

    Reply

  3. Rick Gualtieri
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 12:09:15

    I’m with you, Toby. Finishing a novel is like coming down from a massive adrenalin rush. For a while afterwards its like walking around in a black & white photo. Albeit, I will say that doing so in NJ sounds a whole lot bleaker than doing so in Hawaii. 🙂

    Great post!

    Reply

  4. Sara Martin
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 13:28:14

    Great post! It’s so true that it takes depth to replenish ourselves. It’s easy in our internet world to think breadth is the key, to believe we have to be tapped into 200 things at once.

    But, in reality, we could relax and focus on a few simple experiences. When we focus our attention that way, the yield is so much greater.

    Reply

  5. Frederick Brooke
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 14:20:34

    Toby, thank you for sharing your impressions of the creative process. I could relate. Keep writing!

    Reply

  6. Raine Thomas
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 15:07:07

    Toby, you’re a wonderful writer. This post was elegant and lovely! One of my greatest joys is walking my dog along the nearby nature trail and taking it all in, just giving my mind a rest. This is terrific advice!

    Reply

  7. Sheila
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 16:12:16

    Great article. Thanks for letting me know I’m not the only one who suffers this unreal world after writing. I, too, miss my characters and wonder what am I doing back in this world. I am not crazy after all. I also agree – a good trek to refill our thoughts and minds is the best cure to the “end” for a writer.

    Reply

  8. Toby Neal (@tobywneal)
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 01:41:23

    Sheila, Raine, Frederick, Sara, Victoria, Rick, and Barbara- thanks for the wonderful comments and popping in, I hope it was a little helpful!

    Reply

  9. MPax
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:52:20

    I often miss my characters, too. There’s a euphoria to typing ‘the end’ and a let down. Getting excited about the next project is a great cure…or write a series. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Li @Flash Fiction
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 18:37:47

    I haven’t finished a novel, but I feel depressed if I haven’t written, and a little depressed when I’ve finished a story. Sometimes I look back at one or two stories I thought were really great, and I wonder if my best is now behind me. *Sigh* All part of being a suffering artist I suppose! However, if one must suffer, Toby, I can’t help but feel that it might be a little easier in Hawaii! (Jealousy)

    Reply

  11. Damyanti
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 20:39:03

    “creativity flows from depth of exposure to sensory input”–Love that quote, Toby!

    Reply

  12. Marie from Rock The Kasbah
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 03:36:54

    Congrats on your book(s)!

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Huki-Links: February 13, 2012 | Hawaii Book Blog
  14. graciehill48
    May 24, 2012 @ 09:34:30

    Believe it or not, I find parallels with Psalm 91 here. Go deep, find healing, find growth, in a place of safety, trust, and spiritual stimulation.

    Reply

Leave a comment