23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Li @Flash Fiction
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 05:38:00

    Thank you, Stuart 🙂 I’ll be at work today, but will check back this evening to answer any questions/comments.

    Reply

  2. RAAckerman @ Cerebrations.biz
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 06:23:44

    Ah, but, the powers that be would complain they were not following the approved curriculum- like that really teaches kids…

    Reply

  3. thingy
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:14:17

    I love that. I wish all students could be taught, using all the senses.

    Reply

  4. Li @Flash Fiction
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:25:36

    Hi Roy-
    all of the standards and goals are met; often it’s a case of “going the extra mile” to enhance and reinforce information. And this goes for all classrooms. For instance, the student who questions whether or not he will ever use math can be shown that not being able to add figures in life can lead to being bilked by a repair service. Or you can tell the story of the celebrity who was killed in a plane crash because the weight of the baggage was not calculated properly. It’s stories, examples, and the “oooh” factor that often make things stick in kids’minds. :-))

    Reply

  5. Rick G
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 08:18:58

    Excellent post! As a parent of 2 autistic children I have to give all the kudos in the world to special needs teachers. It takes a special kind of person to open their heart to teaching kids with special needs but it takes an extraordinary person to excel at it. Much kudos to you, Lisa!

    Reply

  6. Benjamin Sobieck
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 08:55:08

    Interesting read. You know, I’ve always thought “fostering creativity” is just another way of saying “getting better at solving problems.” Which is what this article demonstrates in spades.

    Reply

  7. zencherry
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 09:31:15

    What a lovely career you have Lisa!
    My cousin suffered from MS until he died in his twenties. What a lovely gentleman he was to have in my life and what a lovely woman you are to work with these lovelies of our species. I appreciate you for taking the time to really listen to the disadvantaged. 😉

    Reply

  8. Alex J. Cavanaugh
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 11:10:49

    Those are all fantastic ideas for the students, Lisa!
    I worked with illiterate adults for a while – it taught me patience.
    Here online, I just take away a great feeling when I support and promote my blogger buddies.

    Reply

  9. PORTIA
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 11:51:11

    This is real ‘creativity’! you are ‘creating’ wonderful future citizens this way, dear Lisa!
    luv and hugs!!
    -PORTIA

    Reply

  10. mish
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 15:19:17

    Some amazing insights…
    The students are blessed with an innovative & passionate teacher…

    Reply

  11. Li @Flash Fiction
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 18:55:06

    Thank you Thingy 🙂 It takes a little effort, but it’s worth it.

    Hi Rick! I love working with autistic kids. yes, it takes patience, but they’ve opened my eyes to so many different ways of viewing the world. I imagine being a parent is an equally (or more so) challenging position to be in, and I have nothing but admiration for those who devote so much time and energy to making their lives as full as they can be!

    Benjamin, you are right on the money :-)) It might take a dozen or more ideas/attempts to find a solution, but what a rewarding experience when we finally hit on something that works!

    Hi Zencherry :-))) In all honesty, I take as much away from my experiences – or more – than I give. It’s a rewarding job,and I wouldn’t want to do anything else. (Well, maybe be a marine biologist, but I can’t stand cold water.)

    Thanks for stopping by, Alex. One can’t have enough patience in life 🙂 Hope your new insecure writers’ support group is doing well!

    Nice to see you, Portia :-)) Creativity can enrich all aspects of our lives – and others 🙂

    Stu, thanks again for hosting me!!! Your creativity series was a great idea 🙂

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Creativity In the Classroom (Creativity Series: Guest Post) | Creativity For Life | Scoop.it
  13. Li @Flash Fiction
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 19:33:11

    Hi MISH 🙂 Thank you, but I have to clarify, I’m not a teacher but rather a paraeducator, 1:1 or behavioral support as needed. And thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  14. Cathy Beebe
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 23:11:05

    Thank you Stuart! This was wonderful, I could feel the Love and Passion in her heart. Having that feeling inside, the children pick up on that attitude and they become excited to learn.

    Reply

  15. Lisa Wields Words
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 11:28:15

    What a lovely post and gift to your students as well as yourself. It reminds me of a fabulous theater company based in England called the Oily Cart who create theater specifically for children with special needs. They are amazing and incorporate all of the multiple sensory stuff necessary to provide an incredible experience. Here’s a post I wrote about doing a workshop with the artistic director of that group http://lisawieldswords.wordpress.com/2011/05/14/inspiration-found-in-a-drum-a-conversation-and-the-universe/ and here is a link to the company website http://www.oilycart.org.uk/complex_disabilities/current/. You would love them.

    Reply

  16. cath (@jonesbabie)
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 08:26:34

    What a wonderful way to make learning an enjoyable experience! I am so glad I read this post…I love your spirit and fire Lisa. Yours truly is a creative spirit. 😀

    Reply

  17. nadia
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 13:41:39

    this is what we need iour classes.

    Reply

  18. maggievt
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 21:41:16

    I was in the music classroom for 30 years. It is amazing how many music teachers don’t get this. Tell a kid they are learning recorder, 50% of them groan. Tell a kid they are going to write their own song and we are using recorder to do it, you can’t get them to stop. I did that with every single item/theme/concept I ever used. harder? yes. More time consuming for me? yes. Amazing results? yes.

    Reply

Leave a comment